How do I setup my MediaPortal screen to appear on extended desktop? (1 Viewer)

couzin2000

April 9, 2007
Home Country
Canada Canada
Hi,
newbie here, 1st time posting. I am just starting in the Media Center stuff, and I wanted to know if there is a way to configure Media Portal to appear only on the extended desktop screen.

For example: I connect my tv to the pc. Then I use the Catalyst software of my ATI card to "extend" the Windows desktop to my TV, so that my mouse moves from one screen to the next. In that setup, I'd like to have Media Portal appear on my TV ONLY.

Is there a way to do this?

Thanks for the help!
c2k

TV-Server Version:
MediaPortal Version: 0.2.2.4
MediaPortal Skin: Aqua
Windows Version: XP SP2
CPU Type: AMD Barton 2500+, 1.6GHz
HDD: Seagate (120, 250 & 300G)
Memory: 512MB DDR333 168pins
Motherboard: ASUS A7V133
Motherboard Chipset: Via Appolo
Motherboard Bios: don't know
Video Card: ATI Radeon All-In-Wonder 9600 Pro 128megs
Video Card Driver: Catalyst 6.10
Sound Card: Creative Extigy
Sound Card AC3: no AC3
Sound Card Driver: don't know
Power Supply: Fortron Sparkle 400W
Remote: Extigy remote
TV: JVC 27" CRT
TV - HTPC Connection: S-Video

NickName

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • June 23, 2006
    Gold Coast
    Home Country
    I believe the short answer is 'No'. This is a limitation of DirectX.
    Simply put, DirectX can only run on your Primary desktop, so therefore your extended desktop is out for MP. You could switch your Primary display to be TV and I have seen discussions in here somewhere where people swap primary with extended prior to running MediaPortal (MP) and then switch them back when quitting Mediaportal. At least I think that is what they were doing. (I didn't pay a lot of attention as I didn't need it)

Just remember that whatever you do, you can't have "MP always on top" if you want to use the other screen as MP will be on top and stealing the focus from you.

hope this helps,

Nick Name.

couzin2000

April 9, 2007