How good does a server need to be?

Discussion in 'General' started by eetaylog, August 6, 2015.

  1. eetaylog

    eetaylog Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 6, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electronics technician
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +44 / 2
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Am I right in thinking that the specs for a server being used to stream media to a few clients doesnt actually need to be anything special in terms of processing power?



    I guess the main criteria is actually in finding a moterboard/processor combo that will provide the most bios/OS tools for performing tasks such as efficient sleep and wake on LAN handling?

    In my case the server wont be used very often as an MP client (though i do plan to install a version for playing around with while the wife and kids use the other networked clients), but instead will be the hub for storing/streaming all the media in our house and handling timeshifting/recordings etc for TV.

    Would a half decent Ivy Bridge 3rd gen i3/i5 processor be a good happy medium if i found a decent specced 1155 motherboard?

    TIA :)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Stéphane Lenclud
    • Team MediaPortal

    Stéphane Lenclud Development Group

    Joined:
    April 29, 2013
    Messages:
    2,563
    Likes Received:
    657
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1,270 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I guess you should be all right with that.
    @Testers opinions on that?
    .
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,788
    Likes Received:
    1,125
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,410 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I am happily running my server system with an i3 - see system specifications.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,523
    Likes Received:
    2,566
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,251 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/azzuro-tve-server-component-selection.128663/

    MB : Asrock 939A785GMH/128M http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/939A785GMH128M/
    CPU : Athlon64 X2 4200+ s939 ( Cool n quiet feature enabled for energy consumptium and noise )
    Memory : 2 Go DDR 400 ( 4 x512 Mo Corsair Value Select )
    HDD OS : SSD MX100 - 128GB +
    HDD DATA : 160GB Hitachi for TS & Temp
    PSU : Seasonic S12II-500
    Tuner DVB-S : 1 DVB-S2 PCI Technotrend TT-budget-3200 PCI
    Tuner DVB-T : 1 DVB-T Hybrid Hauppauge 1300 PCI

    this motherboard, is a bit slow because using same memory for GPU and system.
    but i can watch 2 stream without issue. ( sure, without trancoding )
     
  6. eetaylog

    eetaylog Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 6, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electronics technician
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +44 / 2
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Azzuro, that is pretty much my spec at the moment but I'd like a cheapish upgrade that's a bit less juicy (as the core i3/5s seem to be) and has a better motherboard for s3 sleep and WOL. My current one is a bit temperamental for waking from sleep for recordings and client requests.
     
  7. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,523
    Likes Received:
    2,566
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,251 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    look J1900 motherboard, it's really great you can have 16gb for timeshift,
    http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Celeron-J1900-vs-AMD-Athlon-64-X2-5000
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. eetaylog

    eetaylog Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 6, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electronics technician
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +44 / 2
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    That's an Intel socket motherboard isn't it?
     
  9. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,523
    Likes Received:
    2,566
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,251 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
  10. eetaylog

    eetaylog Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 6, 2007
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electronics technician
    Location:
    South London
    Ratings:
    +44 / 2
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    I thought you were pointing it out as as alternative for my current AMD board. Would probably look more towards the 1155 socket boards.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!