How to move recorded programs from old MP 1.3 machine to new 1.17 server?

Discussion in 'Installation, configuration support' started by curmudgeon, August 16, 2017.

  1. curmudgeon

    curmudgeon Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Video card in my old XP/MP 1.3 machine died, so I built a Win7/MP 1.17 viewer and a dedicated Win7/MP 1.17 server. I have a bunch of recorded programs that I haven't had time to watch on my old machine. Files on that machine are in the default MediaPortal directories on its 2 TB hard drive. While Mediaportal TVServer 1.17 is installed on the SSD boot drive (C:) on the new server, programs and music files will be on the 3TB drive on the new machine (drive F:). I have hunted for info on moving or importing recorded programs from one machine to another, and neither the Wiki nor this forum seem to have either a documented procedure or instructions on using the backup extension to move these files and make sure they are listed in the recorded programs database. So please, not just to help me, but to assist anyone else who is trying to recover old unwatched programs, can someone please post the procedure? I would be so grateful. I still have some Masterpiece Mystery progams I want to binge watch!


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,541
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Ratings:
    +8,220 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
  4. curmudgeon

    curmudgeon Portal Member

    Joined:
    June 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Thanks! I read that part, got to that screen and didn't notice until now there was a "change channel" option, which I needed to use because the tuner scan on the new server gave new names to the channels! Once I did that, they were all imported. Binge watching this weekend!
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!