Howto configure setup for use over HDMI? (1 Viewer)

Peter2

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 18, 2006
    Home Country
    Belgium Belgium
    Hi guys,
    Finally the old tube has been replaced with a flatscreen tv. :D
    Before the HTPC was connected through s-video and therefore I installed an additional graphics adapter.
    The mobo has HDMI and of course, I removed the graphics adapter and it's drivers - was a nvidia chip - and rebooted.
    I the bios, I have enabled dual display and if I boot the system, I somehow cannot get it right.
    If I disconnect the additional monitor from the VGA conector, I get an image on the tv and the card goes to 1024x768@60Hz. By increasing the resolution to 1920x1080, the tv goes black.
    I have no experience in using HDMI so far so I don't have a clue what I'm doing wrong.
    Getting an image on both HDMI and VGA also doesn't seem to work out well.
    This is not the first time I do a multi-screen setup but never with HDMI.
    1) is it not possible to use both HDMI and VGA?
    2) being a full HD tv, setting the resolution to 1920x1080 should work, no?

Any help is very appreciated!
    P.

Peter2

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 18, 2006
    Home Country
    Belgium Belgium
    Hi pünktchen, happy new year and thanks for replying!
    The mobo is an Asus P8H67-M Pro, it has VGA, DVI-D and HDMI.
    According to the manual, all combinations should work for a dual screen setup and over HDMI 1920x1080@60Hz is the maximum resolution.
    The tv is a Samsung UE46F6400, which is a 2013 model and also is able to display that resolution but didn't find anything about the refeshrate.
    Windows states it's a Samsung display but in advanced details, it's indicated as a Generic PnP device.

One other thing that seems strange to me: if I activate multiple displays, on the tv it shows a 'no signal' message' whereas I would think it should at least come with an 'Out of sync' msg. No?