HTPC Build- CPU & Keyboard Help? (1 Viewer)

Lupismaximus

Portal Member
April 13, 2009
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Hello all. Newbie here.

I have been avoiding jumping into the HTPC realm, since I use Playon, Xbox 360, PS3, Popcorn hour.

The problem with all these is that I have MKVs for all my movie content, and the only device that plays this container is the Popcorn hour. Since I have this in my bed room, I need to build a HTPC for my main media room.

What I plan to do with the HTPC:
- Make it easy for the wife to be able to use
- Watch Movies, play music, and view pictures
- Record and watch TV programs via software PVR
- TV Stream Timeshifting
- Stream content to my Popcorn hour
- Stream content to it from my NAS
- Steam music via Shoutcast, LastFM or hopefully Pandora
- Stream all network IPTV (Netflix, Hulu, CBS.com, ABC.com, Youtube, etc.)
- Encode/ Back-up my BlueRay discs via AnyDVD and Ripbot264
- Get rid of my Cable operator as much as possible
- Surf the web, play an occasional Video Game (Battlefield)

Following is the gear I plan to use to build out my HTPC:
- Case: Antec Fusion 430 Black w/IMEDIAN HD & Antec earthwatts EA430 430W PSU
- MB/GPU/SC: GIGABYTE GA-E7AUM-DS2H LGA 775 NVIDIA GeForce 9400 HDMI Micro ATX Intel Motherboard
- CPU: Either Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 95W or Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 65W ????
- Memory: 4x1GB Corsair Ballistix 8500 1066 Mhz
- Optical Drive: LG GGC-H20L 16X Blu-ray/HD DVD drive
- HD: WD Caviar Green WD15EADS 1.5TB 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
- Tuner: Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1800 MCE (I wish I got the 2250, for the dual tunner)
- Remote: Logitech Harmony One (currently used for all other components and will train with MCE remote to be able to work well with I MEDIAN HD IR)
- Keyboard: PS3 Logitech Cordless Mediaboard Pro ????
- Mouse: Mircorsoft BT Notebook Mouse 5000
- Antenna- Trek HDTVa ???