Is there a commercial offering that even matches MP? (1 Viewer)

stryker

Portal Pro
November 20, 2006
Home Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Hi,

The thought occured to me, if I was up for paying for media centre software, is there anything out there in the commercial world that even matches MP? IE usual media services, but importantly support for a remote server for move/music/pic storage and TV service as with tvserver engine3?

Just wondering because a quick google search found nothing..... not even the mighty M$oft media centre seems to do a remote tv server service.

Ynot

Portal Member
August 15, 2006
Home Country
There's lots of integrated systems that provide a multimedia system
(I'm a building surveyor / architect by trade, so have had a few dealings with them)

but they're not designed to be run on general purpose computer hardware

Bagal

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 15, 2006
    Home Country
    SageTV has a great TV streaming server, but it's let down by its general media center capabilities, I didn't particularly like its UI and I failed to get it working with my DVB-T card, admittedly I haven't used it for more than a year, so things may have improved but then ever since finding MP I haven't looked back! :D

BeyondTV also has a good TV streaming server, simple to setup and use but crazily their media center app is separate to the TV app and as such when you want to watch TV the media center app launches the TV app, which IMO is bizarre and provides a really bad user experience, again though I have to admit to not having used it for well over a year. Almost forgot, last time I checked they didn't support DVB-T and had no intentions to.

Let's face it, MP rocks!:D

infinite.loop

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • December 26, 2004
    Home Country
    Austria Austria
    The thought occured to me, if I was up for paying for media centre software, is there anything out there in the commercial world that even matches MP?