Is there / should there be a "Getting Started" overview for (new) users (1 Viewer)

JimmyBoy

Portal Pro
April 18, 2008
Home Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
I have been using MP for 12 - 18 months now, and because I have a life outside of MP it can be difficult to keep on top of what is actually current and what is actually available to me.

Consider yourself being a new user. You like this idea of being able to use MP as your one-stop shop for viewing media etc... so you install it and get it running.

You have it running, and then you start browsing the MP site / forums and realise there are all these additional plugins, acronyms your not familiar with, and generally things that can just confuse you until you have the time & effort to do some research.

Take for example video's, you have

1) MP integrated videos
2) MyFilms
3) Moving Pictures

This can be confusing - which one should I be using, what is the difference between them etc... etc... also to add to the confusion, if I decide I want to use MyFilms I also need to ensure I have a skin which supports MyFilms.

Then you have things like Trakt and follow.it - what are these, how are they relevant and how do I make use of them ?

Then you have the problem of plugins that are no longer supported/developed etc... For example about 6-12 months ago I was looking for a plugin that would allow me to play my games from my HTPC and there was quite a lot of MyEmulators and derivatives of this plugin, some unfinished, some supporting some things but not others etc.... it got very confusing!!

In addition to all this you have to be sure you have all components required to accomplish a paticular task. For example, say I want to be able to view trailers for movies - I have to make sure the following criteria is met.

1) I have OnLineVideos plugin (this does the part of playing the trailer)
2) I have a plugin that allows viewing of trailers (eg Moving Pictures)