ITV HD Support

Discussion in 'MyTV - Engine 0.2' started by Beechus, June 14, 2008.

?

Should devs implement ITV HD support during code freeze?

  1. Yes! I love HD!

    100.0%
  2. They should, but not during code freeze

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. No, it can wait until they are ready.

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Beechus

    Beechus Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 29, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    QA Team Member
    Location:
    Middlands
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Hey,

    This poll is to try and concince devs to build in support for ITV HD. You guys know what the problem is, but wont add it because we're in feature / code freeze.



    Adding support ITV HD is a really big deal! And we would all appreciate it if you were to implement it.

    Please vote =) Do you want ITV HD now?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ronilse
    • Team MediaPortal

    ronilse Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MediaPortal tester
    Location:
    Moss
    Ratings:
    +280 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    Just stop that, moaning will not help to get it faster in.
    Btw, freeze doesn't mean we don't add tv cards, new stream types etc which could consider as bugs(quest it's already gone into devs from another dev, but have patience). But it will not be implemented to TV Engine 2, TVE3 it's our road!!!

    Regards
    Roy
     
  4. Beechus

    Beechus Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 29, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    QA Team Member
    Location:
    Middlands
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Hey, i'm not moaning! =) It's just to get public oppinion on what the demand for this feature is so devs can assess it's priority. Isnt this usually how most development houses lay out their roadmap?

    Do you know if there is a time frame for TVE3? Weeks / months / years?
     
  5. ronilse
    • Team MediaPortal

    ronilse Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MediaPortal tester
    Location:
    Moss
    Ratings:
    +280 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    First of all you're posting in TV Engine 2(good old lady) where it will not be implemented.
    TVE3 = TV Server which is our HD road & when everything will be fixed implemented to that i dunno (actually none knows that exactly) depends on who has the knowledge & time to do it (thats not me, i'm just a pain in their ass :p ).

    Regards
    Roy
     
  6. DJBlu

    DJBlu Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,670
    Likes Received:
    789
    Location:
    Llanelli
    Ratings:
    +894 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    This isn't a little change,

    The SQL/MSSQL database would need restructuring to take the option for Stream detection override, TV Server Setup would need changing. Then the TSReader / Writer would need rewriting.

    These changes would bring their own set of bugs.

    To me it is too much for 1 channel.

    People are only asking for ITV HD due to the Euro Championships, once this is over the requirement will die down.

    Setting up polls to pressurise developers into action isn't the way forward.

    Just my 2 pence worth.
     
  7. dman_lfc
    • Team MediaPortal

    dman_lfc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    30
    Occupation:
    Sales Manager
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +30 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I have it working :)

    DMAN
     
  8. Beechus

    Beechus Portal Pro

    Joined:
    January 29, 2008
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    2
    Occupation:
    QA Team Member
    Location:
    Middlands
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England

    There is no preassure. It's simply a poll to see what peoples thoughts are. I'm in no rush to get it working for the football, in fact, i'm watching it right now on HD- but having it built into mediaportal would mean more reason for me to stay with and promote mediaportal!

    Don't forget, people pay good money to sky just for sporting events in HD ;)

    DMAN, how did you get it working?
     
  9. ronilse
    • Team MediaPortal

    ronilse Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,422
    Likes Received:
    280
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    MediaPortal tester
    Location:
    Moss
    Ratings:
    +280 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    Please use the other thread you since here it is about TVE2(old lady) ;)

    Regards
    Roy
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!