Just about to give up on MediaPortal. . . (1 Viewer)

gonzo90017

Portal Pro
September 3, 2012
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
I'm getting pretty frustrated with MediaPortal. I'm having so many issues. I came over from WMC because I wanted a true soft sled solution. And because I thought it would be more stable then NPVR. But I end up having to reinstall the client every day. Well today I booted up the client and nothing comes up. Are XP clients just no good with MediaPortal? Hopefully someone can help me out and tell what it is i'm doing wrong?

I launch MediaPortal.exe and I get the loading screens. Just before it gets to the Main screen it crashes.

Client
------
XP 32bit
All the latest Windows updates installed
Radeon HD 5450
Catalyst Version 11.11
Asus M3A78-EM mobo
2GB Ram

Last edited:

thekiwi

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • January 26, 2007
    Gisborne
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Im no expert, but for 5 years Ive run my mediaportal client on Windows XP (TV Server on Windows 7, but prior to that also on XP) and its been rock solid.

Sure now n then I get a stutter, but in terms of working with the OS and crashes ... pretty rock solid.

What Skins/Plugins do you have installed?

gonzo90017

Portal Pro
    September 3, 2012
    Home Country
    I only have a few on the client. I have Avalon and MayaHD as the skins and MPStartit to have MediaPortal start on the TV Home screen. That's it. I only use MediaPortal to record and watch tv. When I install MediaPortal on the client I install it as a dedicated client.

thekiwi

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • January 26, 2007
    Gisborne
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    "Only a few"? When you only need one, and something is causing it grief ... cut it back to the bare bones and start from there.