LAV Video Decoder is not used

Discussion in 'Codecs, External Players' started by Snoopy87, September 17, 2012.

  1. Snoopy87

    Snoopy87 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +166 / 10
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    because of many problems with MediaPortal 1.3.0, I switched back to 1.2.3.

    I made a clean installation. I also installed the latest version of LAV Filters.



    I selected the LAV Video Decoder for TV playback, but when I hit SHIFT+1, I see that the Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder is used! I can't use this decoder, but it is stuttering and I need the LAV Filter. With MediaPortal 1.3.0 everything worked as expected.

    If I use the Cyberlink Video Decoder it is working too (SHIFT+1 says, that the Cyberlink Deoder is used).

    So why the hell is the Microsft DTV-DVD Decoder is used, although I never select it anywhere?!

    Regards,
    Sascha
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
  4. Snoopy87

    Snoopy87 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +166 / 10
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I did that already but with no success.

    I thought merit values will be only used, if I not set a filter, so that automatically the filter with the highest priority will be used? Setting a filter always worked fine with MediaPortal 1.3.0. The only difference is, that I reinstall 1.2.3. I have not changed anything else on my HTPC.

    Edit: Setting a higher merit value, doesn't work too.

    This is what I found in the log file:
    2012-09-17 19:38:50.258473 [Info.][MPMain(1)]: Added filter: LAV Video Decoder to graph
    2012-09-17 19:38:50.273474 [Info.][MPMain(1)]: Added filter: LAV Audio Decoder to graph
    2012-09-17 19:38:50.285475 [Info.][MPMain(1)]: TSReaderPlayer: Render TsReader outputs
    2012-09-17 19:38:50.294476 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: Filter: TsReader - try to connect: Audio
    2012-09-17 19:38:50.359479 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: Filter: TsReader - try to connect: Video
    2012-09-17 19:38:50.764502 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: PlaneScene: PresentImage() dispose surfaces
    2012-09-17 19:38:51.293533 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: Filter: TsReader - try to connect: Subtitle
    2012-09-17 19:38:51.313534 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: - failed
    2012-09-17 19:38:51.318534 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: Filter: LAV Video Decoder - try to connect: Output
    2012-09-17 19:38:52.476600 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: - failed
    2012-09-17 19:38:52.494601 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: Filter: Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder - try to connect: ~Line21 Output
    2012-09-17 19:38:52.514603 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: Check graph connections for: LAV Video Decoder
    2012-09-17 19:38:52.521603 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: - remove done
    2012-09-17 19:38:52.526603 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: Check graph connections for: Enhanced Video Renderer
    2012-09-17 19:38:52.536604 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: Check graph connections for: AMD HDMI Output (AMD High Defin
    2012-09-17 19:38:52.542604 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: Check graph connections for: Line 21 Decoder 2
    2012-09-17 19:38:52.548604 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: Check graph connections for: LAV Audio Decoder
    2012-09-17 19:38:52.555605 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: Check graph connections for: Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder
    2012-09-17 19:38:52.560605 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: Check graph connections for: TsReader
    2012-09-17 19:38:52.570606 [Info.][MPMain(1)]: TSreaderPlayer: Line21 Decoder (Closed Captions), in use
    2012-09-17 19:38:52.575606 [Info.][MPMain(1)]: TSReaderPlayer: Closed Captions state change successful
    2012-09-17 19:38:52.598607 [Debug][MPMain(1)]: TSReaderPlayer: Last subtitle index: 0
    2012-09-17 19:38:52.776618 [Info.][MPMain(1)]: TSReaderPlayer: OnInitialized
    2012-09-17 19:38:52.782618 [Info.][MPMain(1)]: TSReaderPlayer: position:0,021, duration:4,309
     
    Last edited: September 17, 2012
  5. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    That's how it is supposed to work, but it seems you're in some sort of Codec hell... :/

    Please post logs.

    ** EDIT **
    So it tries to add LAV Video Decoder but it fails and inserts MS DTV DVD Video Decoder.
    Are you trying to watch a DVD by any chance?
     
    Last edited: September 17, 2012
  6. Snoopy87

    Snoopy87 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +166 / 10
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    See log in my previous post.

    I found out, that the Microsft DTV-DVD Video Decoder is only used on HD channels. On SD channels the LAV Video Decoder is used.
     
  7. HomeY
    • Team MediaPortal

    HomeY Test Group

    Joined:
    February 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,460
    Likes Received:
    2,627
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Network Engineer
    Location:
    ::1
    Ratings:
    +4,737 / 16
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
  8. Snoopy87

    Snoopy87 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +166 / 10
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  9. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,928
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Do you maybe have disabled h264 decoding in LAV Config? (Tab Formats)
     
  10. Snoopy87

    Snoopy87 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 12, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    123
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +166 / 10
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    No :-(

    I also tried to uninstall LAV Filter and reinstall without keeping the old settings.

    LAV Video works only for SD channels. Cyberlink works for HD and SD. With MediaPortal 1.3.0 LAV Video works also for both. Very strange :-(
     
    Last edited: September 17, 2012
  11. Sebastiii
    • Team MediaPortal

    Sebastiii Development Group

    Joined:
    November 12, 2007
    Messages:
    16,275
    Likes Received:
    6,223
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    France
    Ratings:
    +10,235 / 9
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    Would be nice to record HD channel (maybe 30 sec) and try to connect filter manually in graphstudio tools :)
    Like this you can see if Tsreader + LAV Video works (i mean connect between them).
    If not try to open the sample with LAv splitter + Lav Video and see it it connect and if yes -> that mean Tsreader didn't handle H264 stream with LAV Video.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!