Live TV cpu usage: MP vs Windows Media center (WMC)

Discussion in 'General Support' started by senorito.ako, August 30, 2013.

  1. senorito.ako

    senorito.ako New Member

    Joined:
    August 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    I've notice that the CPU usage when watching live tv is around 25% for both MP and Hauppauge's Wintv

    Vs.

    WMC negligible cpu usage.

    WMC seems to be using the video card (hardware acceleration) for playback. I've enabled the Nvidia's decoder which MP says that it's available but still getting 25% usage.

    Did I miss anything ?



    Video card is Zotac gt9800
    CPU AMD 620 quadcore @ 2.6ghz
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal often does more in the background than WMC, so I would expect MePo cpu usage to always be higher than WMC. Is the channel you are watching interlaced? If an interlaced channel and hardware decoding is working, then you should see a big difference in CPU usage with below settings...

    Change video codec = LAV Video, LAV Setting: Hardware acceleration = DXVA2 native.
    Check CPU usage
    Change video codec = LAV Video, LAV Setting: Hardware acceleration = none, Enable software deinterlacing.
    Check CPU usage
     
    Last edited: August 30, 2013
  4. senorito.ako

    senorito.ako New Member

    Joined:
    August 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Extra Info
    MP ver 1.4
    Hauppauge HVR-2250 (latest drivers/software from website)
    Location New Zealand (h.264 native broadcast)

    I've tried the DVXA, Nvida and None but all three consume the same amount of CPU cycles. I guess when comparing to WinTV they're not that far off.

    I just don't know how WMC uses hardware accelerated decoding differently.

    I'll try to poke around Hauppauge's setting, as I'm pretty sure if I can get the CPU usage down MP's usage would follow.
     
  5. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,532
    Likes Received:
    2,821
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,122 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Which OS are you using ?

    If you are using Win7 (and maybe Win8) try using MS-DTV-DVD video decoder (this is basically the same as decoder that WMC uses).

    I think the problem may be that the gt9800 uses quite an old chipset, and the DXVA2 hardware acceleration it can provide may not be compatible with LAV (so it falls back to using software-only decoding).
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    I would expect CPU usage to change. it seems that for whatever reason hardware acceleration is not working for you.
     
  7. senorito.ako

    senorito.ako New Member

    Joined:
    August 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand

    Kia ora,

    Thanks for replying guys, Owlsroost reply got me thinking (and researching).

    Live TV/Record playback are now 6-11-14% cpu (down from 22--25-30%).

    What I did was I've checked the automatic decoder settings (all the video decoder settings got greyed out). How I understood this is it implies the system will use whatever MCE is using or whichever codec ranks highest in its internal merit system. Which seems logical as MCE seems to get it right, CPU-wise.

    I will try to uncheck the audio splitter that might be the last bit of the puzzle.
     
    Last edited: September 3, 2013
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!