[Bug] - Lost spaces in summary (#Plot) after words with length 4 and less | Page 2

Discussion in 'MediaPortal 1.2.0 BETA' started by ShIvADeSt, April 30, 2011.

  1. arion_p
    • Team MediaPortal

    arion_p Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,447
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +1,522 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    Just a note:   html entity is a non-breaking space, so is 0xA0 character code in Unicode. So technically this (HtmlDecode) is working as expected. We need to make sure all non-breaking spaces are converted to regular spaces before importing to DB


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. ShIvADeSt

    ShIvADeSt Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    So may be rename topic in "Lost spaces in Summary (#Plot) if it is non-break space"? Or "Convert non-break spaces into regular spaces"
     
  4. ShIvADeSt

    ShIvADeSt Portal Pro

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    Same trouble for some titles.
     
  5. Seidelin
    • Team MediaPortal

    Seidelin Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    327
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Location:
    Kgs. Lyngby
    Ratings:
    +328 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Should we add this to mantis then?
     
  6. arion_p
    • Team MediaPortal

    arion_p Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,447
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +1,522 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    I would say yes. Though I am not yet sure of the proper solution.
     
  7. Seidelin
    • Team MediaPortal

    Seidelin Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    327
    Occupation:
    Researcher
    Location:
    Kgs. Lyngby
    Ratings:
    +328 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    I marked the thread as "Bug" and put the issue in mantis.
     
  8. elliottmc
    • Team MediaPortal

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Bumping this thread. Do we have a solution yet?

    Mark
     
  9. Deda
    • Team MediaPortal

    Deda Lead Dev MP1 Videos

    Joined:
    March 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,423
    Likes Received:
    2,098
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Ratings:
    +2,385 / 1
    Home Country:
    Croatia Croatia
    Show System Specs
    Yes I have it for a long time but can't verify it on kinopoisk examples because it changed HTML code to   which HTMLDecode correctly change to a space so I can't verify patch (I tested on only on user database and patch corrects those 0xA0).
     

    Attached Files:

    • Like Like x 1
  10. elliottmc
    • Team MediaPortal

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Is there any chance of regression for anyone else? What is your general feeling on this? Should the fix be committed?

    Thanks,

    Mark
     
  11. Deda
    • Team MediaPortal

    Deda Lead Dev MP1 Videos

    Joined:
    March 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,423
    Likes Received:
    2,098
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    IT Consultant
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Ratings:
    +2,385 / 1
    Home Country:
    Croatia Croatia
    Show System Specs
    Patch itself is harmless so it will do a transform for problematic non-breaking space and some XML special chars or string will just pass the code and nothing happens. Maybe it will be a good for the future to place html cleaning there so if something slips script, here will be converted to a normal char but it would need little attention because music plugin also uses this for converting strings with single quotas to a string suitable for sql lite database.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!