lost tuners during long recordings

Discussion in '1.3.x' started by KleMC, April 16, 2013.

  1. KleMC

    KleMC Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    near Vienna
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    MediaPortal Version: 1.3.0



    Description
    I have now reproduced this a number of times. I schedule a long recording (>6 hrs), after ca 5.5 hrs (varies) I cannot watch live TV anymore as if all my tuners are lost (both the channel that is being recorded as well as any other channel, I have 2 tuners). Symptom: black screen, HDD in heavy use. When I last reproduced this, the recording stopped after ca 5.5 hrs (MP indicated that it was still recording), today the recording seemed fine but I could watch no live TV.
    The problem remains after a system reboot, the only way out is to restore an image that was taken before the recording started.
    There is plenty of space on the HDD.
    Many thanks in advance for looking into this!
    cheers,
    KleMC

    Steps to Reproduce:
    schedule a long recording (>6 hrs), whilst recording is ongoing try to watch any channel (including the one that is being recorded)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello KieMC

    I don't think the tuners themselves are lost, because I can see your attempt to tune the channel at about 6pm on 16/04.
    The tune attempt is successful...

    From the start of your recording I see almost constant continuity errors in your TsWriter log files. Something to do with the subtitle/teletext PID for that particular channel.

    Your HDD is clearly under heavy load... and that is the reason why you are unable to start live TV.

    As for the reason for the continuity errors... not 100% sure, but I don't think they are real errors. Probably there is something peculiar about that particular channel that you were recording.

    Can you supply a TS dump for that channel?
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_MEDIAPORTAL_1/18_Contribute/4_Development/Debugging/TS_Dumps

    mm
     
  4. KleMC

    KleMC Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    near Vienna
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Austria Austria
    Hi mm,

    sorry, I only noticed your answer now. Have dumped as suggested, filename is uk_freeview_11758_S_itv4_FTA.ts

    many thanks,
    KleMC
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!