"Media not available" error (1 Viewer)

TomEK

Portal Member
February 13, 2009
Let me first thank the Media Portal and Moving Pictures teams for giving us these excellent programs! I have been using MP for a few years now, but I'm new to Moving Pictures. I must say I was VERY impressed by database/import functionallity!

But now to my problem: After importing my movie files to the Moving Pictures database everything works out nicely, a couple of hangs/crashes when browsing but that is to be expected on a beta version (0.7.0). However, after restarting the system I get "Media not available....please insert or connect media...." error message when trying to play a (any) movie trough the plugin.

I have all my movie files on a server share, which is permanently mapped to a drive letter. I use read-only access.

I can still play the files trough "My Movies", so the problem is not actually with the connection. To Media Portal/Moving Pictures the drive is seen as a local disk.

I hope someone can give me a solution to my problem as is renders the plugin unusable. Still look great tho... :)

Software: WinXP SP3 Slipstreamed, Mediaportal 1.0.0, Moving Pictures 0.7.0, etc...

armandp

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • April 6, 2008
    Zoetermeer
    Home Country
    Netherlands Netherlands
    ok nice description ;)

Can you pls post your *debug* log (set mediaportal to debug logging, and do what you normally do when you get the "Media not available" message). I also have shares mapped to local drives and i have no problem myself.. also there were some fixes that will go into 0.7.1 that might deal with your problem (but again we need logs to verify that ofcourse)

TomEK

Portal Member
    February 13, 2009
    I'm impressed by your quick reply! :)

I have (hopefully) attached my MoPic logfile, but expect these first lines also will tell the story:

14-Feb-2009 10:01:13 Info [ DatabaseManager]: Successfully Opened Database: *\movingpictures.db3