Media Portal has suddenly gone FUBAR

Discussion in 'Newcomers Forum' started by wmcftw, November 2, 2014.

  1. wmcftw

    wmcftw Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 2, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Guys

    Apologies for starting a new thread- this is my first post as I have been using Mepo for years and consider myself to be quite experienced. However, this will all mean nothing unless someone can help me out because I am totally stuck

    For years I have been using ,Mepo and it's glorious plugins and pvr. Since last week's two failed recordings I have uninstalled, reinstalled and done over a week's trouble shooting...with no success

    Mepo, cannot launch the tv server config and this message randomly appears

    upload_2014-11-2_21-34-48.png




    The logs are below

    Please help me...................I am pulling my hair out

    I am using a laptop with Windows 7 with this tv stick

    http://www.hauppauge.co.uk/site/products/data_hvr900.html

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: November 2, 2014
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,541
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Ratings:
    +8,220 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello wmcftw


    Sorry to hear you're having trouble. Wish you'd asked for help earlier. We're here to help you avoid spending so much time and pulling your hair out. ;)

    Unfortunately those logs are of no use to me. They're the MediaPortal logs, not the TV Server logs.
    Assuming you've got MP and TV Server installed on the one laptop, could you please use the watchdog tool with option 3 to export your existing log files:
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_MEDIAPORTAL_1/16_Support/3_Forums/2_Log_Files

    Then just post/attach the zip file here.
    If MP and TV Server are installed on separate PCs/laptops/whatever, just let me know and I'll provide instructions for grabbing the TV Server logs.

    Regards,
    mm
     
  4. wmcftw

    wmcftw Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 2, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    I cannot find the pathway to reporting a bug in that folder. If you need me to send you a screenshot of any folder- let me know. Perhaps the last installation did not generate that handy tool.
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,541
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Ratings:
    +8,220 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Well that's bizare. Could you have deleted it?

    Try this:
    1. Open Windows Explorer.
    2. Navigate to the MediaPortal install directory (default: c:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal).
    3. Double click on WatchDog.exe.
    Now you can use option 3 to export the logs.
     
  6. wmcftw

    wmcftw Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 2, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    My error. The 2nd set of instructions were much clearer
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,541
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Ratings:
    +8,220 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Thank you.

    From the log files it looks like TV Server is simply not installed on the laptop. If that is the case then it is no surprise that TV Server configuration can't run.

    If TV Server is meant to be running on the laptop then I suggest you uninstall ("full product cleanup") and reinstall, making sure that you install the TV Server ("yes - I will use MediaPortal to watch TV"). Also, make sure that you run the installer with administrative privileges (ie. to run the installer, right click on the installer/exe file and select run as administrator).

    Regards,
    mm
     
  8. wmcftw

    wmcftw Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 2, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    I am not wishing to argue. But, I have done that about 5 times this week. It was working pefectly until recently

    I will give it one last try. But, I don't understand why it has been so flawless until a week ago

    Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.140706-1506)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: Acer
    System Model: Aspire 7739
    BIOS: InsydeH2O Version 03.60.52V1.04
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 380 @ 2.53GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.5GHz
    Memory: 4096MB RAM
    Available OS Memory: 3764MB RAM
     
  9. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,541
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Ratings:
    +8,220 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Well, at this point that's all I can suggest. Like I said: it honestly looks like TV Server is not installed.
     
  10. wmcftw

    wmcftw Portal Member

    Joined:
    November 2, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    5
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +6 / 0
    Home Country:
    Great Britain (UK) Great Britain (UK)
    Almost done
    [​IMG][DOUBLEPOST=1414967878][/DOUBLEPOST]Should a total clean take this long? Why do you think that the tv server would suddenly not install?[DOUBLEPOST=1414968013][/DOUBLEPOST]Rebooting[DOUBLEPOST=1414968239][/DOUBLEPOST]Running as admin
     
    Last edited: November 2, 2014
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,541
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Ratings:
    +8,220 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Without knowing how long "this long" is, I can't answer.

    User error, probably selecting the wrong options in the installer or not running as admin.
    ...or maybe dirty uninstall, causing the installer to think it doesn't need to install/reinstall TV Server.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!