[News] - MediaPortal 2 Alpha 4 released - Christmas is coming early this year :)

Discussion in 'News and Announcements' started by morpheus_xx, December 18, 2013.

  1. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,017
    Likes Received:
    4,749
    Ratings:
    +6,795 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    We are proud to offer a special Christmas gift for you: MediaPortal 2 Alpha 4!

    Although this version is still tagged "Alpha", which means there might be still problems, don't hesitate to try it. It works very smoothly and will probably be the last Alpha release before we take the next steps to a "Beta" release! Be sure to read the instructions at the end of the news regarding installation, upgrade and extension compatibility.



    Full news: https://www.team-mediaportal.com/news/mediaportal-2-alpha-4-released

    Please post your comments here :)
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 9
    • Like Like x 4
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,928
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hello!
    Installed it and played around already. Great work! :)

    One question which maybe is kinda offtopic:
    I installed SlimTV Extended which comes with channel logos. I wanted to change some of them but they seem to get cached somewhere? Is it possible to delete the cache?
     
  4. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,017
    Likes Received:
    4,749
    Ratings:
    +6,795 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Fanart is cached inside"C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MP2-Server\Thumbs\FanArt" folder, you might clear this folder. During runtime the images are also cached by content manager in memory, so a restart of MP2-Client might be required after in-place-updates.
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. Holzi
    • Team MediaPortal

    Holzi Super Moderator

    Joined:
    April 21, 2010
    Messages:
    7,928
    Likes Received:
    1,591
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ba-Wü
    Ratings:
    +2,228 / 8
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    That did it. :)

    I did some further testing and it is really great to see how MP2 behaves when controlling with mouse. Right now doing some tests with LiveTV and audio playing concurrently while testing the amazing playlist feature in MP2. Importing music went without a problem by the way. ;)
    1.png
     
    • Like Like x 3
  6. Nonciazzecco
    • Premium Supporter

    Nonciazzecco MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 3, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Milano
    Ratings:
    +10 / 0
    Home Country:
    Italy Italy
    Ok this is the first time I have been able to install and setup MP2. At the moment I have a multi-client MP1 installation.
    The first thumb up is for the re-worked wiki, way far easier to get into the MP2 word.
    The plus:
    - MP2 is much easier to install and setup than MP1 (not considered the TV section)
    - MP2 seems faster to load than MP1
    - MP2 looks more solid than MP1

    The minus:
    - Language control for media info. I understand that we are in alpha stage, but MP2 shares info and media much easier and better than MP1, unfortunately the info are good only if you are English speaking public. No-good for my family environment ;).

    I would really like to see is to see MP2 That when you choose a language in the setting will download/upload all the media info accordingly with the picked up language and prepare the trailer for each movie in the proper language. Full integration between series, movies and online videos plug-in, melted in MP2 souce :).

    Dreaming I know, but is Christmas.
    Great Job guys!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  7. Pog
    • Premium Supporter

    Pog Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    September 7, 2009
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Wicklow
    Ratings:
    +315 / 1
    Home Country:
    Ireland Ireland
    Show System Specs
    Thank you Santa!!!!! arrrrrrrrrrrgggggggghhhaaaaa (overhyped kid style shout)

    Given all the DB changes etc, should previous versions be removed/uninstalled first?
     
  8. razorbakmax
    • Premium Supporter

    razorbakmax MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 10, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Switzerland Switzerland
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    after install of SlimTV native, i don't have a IPTV card installed. How to scan my .m3u TV list ?

    Thanks and have a very Christmas !!
     
  9. Ole Friis Heesgaard

    Ole Friis Heesgaard Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 7, 2012
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    Show System Specs
    Have tried the same here (installed MP2alpha4 with native SlimTV) but after setting number of IPTV cards to 2 or 3 nothing happens !!!!
    Still no support for IPTV ???? or still the missing "MPIPTVSource.7z" on clean installations ??
    Merry Christmas to all :)
     
    Last edited: December 25, 2013
  10. Iwen

    Iwen Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 14, 2007
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    24
    Ratings:
    +32 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Wow, really a great piece of software you put together here. Did my very first MP2 installation and I'm very impressed. Blazingly fast startup, nice concept of media shares, PiP (had a few troubles with it though), ... .

    All in all I am more than happy to say: big thankyou to you all, you did an awesome job (also thumbs up for the easy installation and the very good documentation). (y)
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. raffe

    raffe Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 28, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    35
    Ratings:
    +45 / 0
    Show System Specs
    This MP2 seems cool with client, server, NAS and all! :)
    But I guess that if I want to try it for real (server and several clients), I need to use the 'native' movie and series function (and not 'Moving Pictures' and 'My TVSeries').
    As I have 1,859 Movies and 221 TV Shows with 4,370 Episodes I cannot just import them all from a share as I will loose all info about what I have seen.
    So my question is, what is the best way to convert or export/import the databases from 'Moving Pictures' and 'My TVSeries' to the native movie and series function?
    (And can I still use IMDB+ with the native movie function? I guess not as I am pretty sure it is made for Moving Pictures.)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!