Missing Media Portal configuration icon :-(

Discussion in 'General Support' started by nzdreamer55, January 4, 2011.

  1. nzdreamer55
    • Premium Supporter

    nzdreamer55 MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 31, 2010
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    20
    Occupation:
    Veterinarian
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Hello,

    I did a search of the web site and didn't find anything under the term icon that fit so here it is.



    I have lost my icons for my Mediaportal config application, the TV server config application, and the uninstall media portal application. There is just the ugly windows generic icon.

    How do I ge them back?

    Thanks
    Steve


    MediaPortal Version: 1.1.2
    MediaPortal Skin: Blue 3
    Windows Version: Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    CPU Type: AMD Athlon II X4 640 Propus 3.0GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor ADX640WFGMBOX
    HDD: Western Digital SSD 64G OS, Seagate SATA 0.5TB Recording Drive, Western Digital 2.0TB Media Storage
    Memory: G.SKILL NS 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666)
    Motherboard: ASUS M4A88TD-M/USB3 AM3 AMD 880G SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
    Video Card: Integrated ATI Radeon™ HD 4250 GPU onboard with HDMI output
    Video Card Driver: Catalyst™ Control Center Version 2010.0210.2206.39615, ATI Version 8.710.0.0
    Sound Card: On Board ALC892 8-Channel High Definition Audio CODEC
    Sound Card AC3: HDMI Output
    Sound Card Driver: Realtek Semiconductor Corp. V.6.0.1.6069
    1. TV Card: Conexant Falcon II NTSC Video Capture
    1. TV Card Type: Analog
    1. TV Card Driver: Conexant version 6.0.6000.16400
    2. TV Card: Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-2250 (8891)
    2. TV Card Type: Dule Hybrid ATSC/QAM & Analog
    2. TV Card Driver: Hauppauge 7.6.27.27323
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: Cyberlink Video Decoder (Decoder PDVD10)
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: Microsoft DTV-DVD Audio Decoder
    h.264 Video Codec: Cyberlink Video Decoder (Decoder PDVD10)
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: Charter Cable
    HTPC Case: COOLER MASTER HAF 912 RC-912-KKN1 Black SECC/ ABS Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
    Cooling: 2 x 120mm Case fans
    Power Supply: Antec BP550 Plus 550W Continuous Power ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply
    Remote: AVS Gear HA-IR01SV Infrared Certified MCE VISTA Remote Control
    TV: Vizio M420HD
    TV - HTPC Connection: HDMI
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,730
    Ratings:
    +8,196 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi there

    That's an unusual one!
    Firstly double check that the shortcuts are still pointing to the correct location. For each shortcut:

    1. Double click on the shortcut.
    2. If the correct application loads then try the next set of instructions.
    3. If the application doesn't load then wait for Windows to give up searching and click "locate".
    4. Navigate to the MP/TV Server install directory and select the correct file:
    - MediaPortal = MediaPortal.exe (MP directory)
    - MediaPortal Configuration = Configuration.exe (MP directory)
    - MediaPortal Uninstall = uninstall-mp.exe (MP directory)
    - TV Server Configuration = SetupTv.exe (TV Server directory)
    - TV Server Uninstall = uninstall-tve3.exe (TV Server directory)

    If the shortcuts are already correct, try the following:

    1. Right click on the shortcut.
    2. Click properties.
    3. Go to the second tab.
    4. Click "change icon".
    5. If the correct icon isn't already availble then browse to the correct executable (exe file).
    6. Select the icon.
    7. Click ok, and ok again.
     
  4. ryan20021982
    • Team MediaPortal

    ryan20021982 Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    June 27, 2008
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    83
    Occupation:
    Prison Guard
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +83 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Its a windows problem


    1. Close all folder windows that are currently open.

    2. Launch Task Manager using the CTRL+SHIFT+ESC key sequence, or by running taskmgr.exe.

    3. In the Process tab, right-click on the Explorer.exe process and select End Process.

    4. Click the End process button when asked for confirmation.

    5. From the File menu of Task Manager, select New Task (Run…)

    6. Type CMD.EXE, and click OK

    7. In the Command Prompt window, type the commands one by one and press ENTER after each command:

    CD /d %userprofile%\AppData\Local
    DEL IconCache.db /a
    EXIT

    8. In Task Manager, click File, select New Task (Run…)

    9. Type EXPLORER.EXE, and click OK.
     
    • Like Like x 7
  5. nzdreamer55
    • Premium Supporter

    nzdreamer55 MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 31, 2010
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    20
    Occupation:
    Veterinarian
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Thanks Guys. I'll give the windows solution a try this weekend and let you know how it goes. Again thank you.

    Steve
    :D
     
  6. nzdreamer55
    • Premium Supporter

    nzdreamer55 MP Donator

    Joined:
    August 31, 2010
    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    20
    Occupation:
    Veterinarian
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Ratings:
    +28 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs

    Hey Ryan20021982 thanks for the help. That worked like a charm.

    Steve
     
  7. damaster

    damaster Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 23, 2007
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    35
    Ratings:
    +35 / 0
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Thanks! Same problem here on Windows 7 x64 and found this thread with your solution which worked like a charm!
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!