MKV video play skippy in MP, but works fine in other programs?

Discussion in 'General Support' started by stounedi, December 11, 2008.

  1. stounedi

    stounedi Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 9, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Hello!

    I am experiencing some problems with MediaPortal h264 .mkv playback. The video seems skippy. I am experiencing sort of "skips" or "speed-ups" every few seconds. The skips are very short and fast, maybe less than second but still very annoying especially if there is a lot of movement on screen. Only video seems to "skip", sound plays normally and stays synced too.

    I have tried both ffdshow and coreavc codecs. Both turn out with same kind of skipping.

    The problem seems to be with MediaPortal player, Windows Media Player and Media Player Classic do not have the same problem with either of the two codecs (ffdshow / coreavc).

    Anyone else ever had this kind of problem and knows where I should start looking for an solution?


    The solution: Skipping video was caused by ffdshow audio codec. I changed the codec to AC3Filter.
    The solution: AC3Filter was giving sound on all .mkv's. I had to reset my AC3Filter setting and set SPDIF/AC3 to auto.
    Everything works fine now.
    Thanks to everyone who helped me.


    MediaPortal Version: RC4
    MediaPortal Skin: Default
    Windows Version: XP PRO SP3
    CPU Type: Intel Core2Duo E7300
    HDD: 160GB Seagate SATA
    Memory: 2GB DDR800
    Motherboard: Asus P5E-VM SE
    Video Card: Ati HD2600 Pro
    Video Card Driver: Catalyst 8.11 (lastest)
    Sound Card: Integrated Realtek HD Audio
    Sound Card AC3: S/PDIF
    Sound Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: ffdshow
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow
    h.264 Video Codec: ffdshow / coreavc
    HTPC Case: Zalman HD160
    Cooling: 2x80mm noiseless case fans, Noctua cpu cooler with noiseless 92mm
    Power Supply: 400W Nexus
    Remote: IRTrans, included with Zalman HD160
    TV: Samsung 50" Plasma
    TV - HTPC Connection: HDMI-DVI


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Sh4nn0w
    • Premium Supporter

    Sh4nn0w MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 14, 2006
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Telecommunications
    Ratings:
    +23 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Shouldn't be a problem looking at your hardware. I use ffdshow with an E6750 in my desktop and have no problem with 1080p mkv's. (files are on a server also, not local) so seems like something's not right.

    You won't get much help without posting your logs though: How to start a support or bugreport thread

    Use the log collector thing, clear your logs, load MP, play mkv, run log collector and post logs; quite often there's something obvious in there
     
  4. stounedi

    stounedi Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 9, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Here are my log files.
     
  5. Dr Tone

    Dr Tone Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 29, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    If they work properly in windows media player, tell media portal to use the default directshow decoders/filters. That little check right below the decoder drop down boxes. The one with the merit warning.

    Are you doing any post processing?
     
  6. stounedi

    stounedi Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 9, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Thanks! This solved the issue in MediaPortal.

    Though I'm still wondering what might have caused the skipping.

    I wasnt using any post-processing.
     
  7. Dr Tone

    Dr Tone Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 29, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Apparently the default decoders/filters aren't the same as the ones that you had chosen in media portal. If you want to find out what's happening behind the scene by default, open your media file in graphedit.
     
  8. stounedi

    stounedi Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 9, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Ok I did find out the reason but not any solution yet.

    Media Portal was using ffdshow audio decoder for audio, apparently that was causing the skipping.

    After I changed it to ac3filter the skipping is gone. BUT... Now I am not getting audio from all of my .mkv files.

    Both .mkv files have the seemingly same 6-ch 48k AC3 audio. One plays fine, another gives no sound at all.

    Is there any other audio codecs I should try, or anyone got any other tips how to solve this issue? I think ffdshow audio would be great, without the skipping video issue.

    EDIT: I also tried to update my audio drivers to the latest version, no help there.
    CPU load is very low, so its not that either.
     
  9. Dr Tone

    Dr Tone Portal Pro

    Joined:
    October 29, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    Ratings:
    +5 / 1
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Have you messed with any AC3Filter settings? I had the same thing happen to me, I had to reset the AC3Filter settings to default and then just turn on SPDIF and set DTS to auto and everything started working fine.
     
  10. stounedi

    stounedi Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 9, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
     
  11. nabster

    nabster Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 20, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Many many many thanks have had this skipping video problem on my HD files for months, had just about given up finding a solution didnt think for a minute it would be audio codec , previously used cccp which uses ffdshow for audio then installed seperate ffdshow video, core avc and ac3 filter every thing is perfect, can't tell you how many hours and how many things i have tried ,was almost starting to believe it was a refresh rate problem with my £1000 TV.

    Many thanks :)
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!