MP 1.14.0 Screen Goes Black After Channel Change

Discussion in 'General Support' started by macmr, May 6, 2016.

  1. macmr

    macmr Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 21, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    I have had MP.1.14.0 stop running as follows:



    1. Watching a channel then change channel by using remote generated channel id numbers
    2. Screen goes to black
    3. Go to guide and select another channel
    4. Screen goes to black
    5. Hit esc and find "TV is turned on in MP" but where it shows the tv playing is still black
    6. Turn off tv in MP and then back on again but no difference
    7. Hit esc to go back to main screen but before getting there MP stops responding
    8. Ctrl+Alt+Del shows "MP not responding" and "MP watchdog" running
    9. Shutdown MP and let watchdog complete and restart MP
    10. All working

    I have not had a chance to change anything as suggested in this thread "MP 1.14.0 Screen Freeze Then PC Lockup" but as this is something completely different (or at least I think it is) I thought I would post the logs and see what happens

    Thanks
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,729
    Ratings:
    +8,195 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Here's the error which is reported:
    [2016-05-06 17:59:15,505] [Error ] [MPMain ] [ERROR] - Error starting graph: Not enough storage is available to complete this operation.

    Presumably your system drive got really low on or ran out of free space. Please confirm.
     
  4. macmr

    macmr Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 21, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Just checked my ssd properties and it says 59Gb used and 59Gb free?
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,518
    Likes Received:
    4,729
    Ratings:
    +8,195 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    So it's a 120/128 GB drive?
    What about the other drives, especially the drive that hosts your recording and time-shifting folder(s)?

    Note that the error message may be leading us on a wild goose chase. Sometimes DirectShow can throw out weird error codes. We can be certain that (1) the problem was that the playback/decoding DirectShow graph could not be started because one of its components (splitter, codecs, post-processors and renderers) encountered a problem, and (2) the error message came from one of those components.

    I checked the TsReader (splitter), EVR (video renderer) and MPAR (audio renderer) log files and didn't see any obvious errors there. I'm not able to check the LAV log files.

    If your other drives have plenty of free space too, try using a DirectSound audio renderer instead of the MPAR. MPAR doesn't always work so well with TV, though when it doesn't work it tends to manifest in different ways than what you're seeing/describing.
     
  6. macmr

    macmr Portal Pro

    Joined:
    August 21, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Ok I have set the MP TV audio renderer to DirectSound and also ran the dxdiag which says all is ok so let's see what happens
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2016
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!