MP 1 or MP2? (1 Viewer)

johnoxy

Portal Member
June 13, 2013
Home Country
Australia Australia
Hi, I'm new to mediaportal and would appreciate some assistance in installing the correct version for what i want.
I have a media server in the cupboard and the htpc is by the tv.
These are wired.
The htpc has the tv tuners not the server.
The htpc has a blu-ray drive and an ssd (120gb)
I also want to be able to stream server content to other devices using mp.

Should i be using MP2 in this scenario? I've read that MP2 doesn't play blu-ray yet?

Thanks

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome :)

If you want solid TV and bluray support I'd go with MP1 for now... but you could try both and use the one that suits best (you can install MP1 and MP2 on the same PC). :)

mm

johnoxy

Portal Member
    June 13, 2013
    Home Country
    Australia Australia
    Hi and thanks for the reply. Does that have any implications when setting up shares?

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi and thanks for the reply. Does that have any implications when setting up shares?

MP1 supports UNC shares as well:
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...Portal_Configuration/2_Videos/1_Video_Folders

As I understand it the bigger difference between MP1 and MP2 is that MP2 stores all your media info on the server whereas with MP1 you pretty much have to set up each client individually (note). This probably isn't much of an issue for you right now as you only have the one client - the HTPC. Whether you leave the tuners in the HTPC and install MP as "single-seat" (ie. both TV Server and MediaPortal on the same PC) or move the tuners to the server and do a server-only (TV Server) install on the server and a client-only install on the HTPC is up to you.

Julien Pham

Portal Member
    July 11, 2013
    Home Country