MP1, New Install, crashes when I turn on TV

Discussion in 'Newcomers Forum' started by Kevin G, January 2, 2016.

  1. Kevin G

    Kevin G New Member

    Joined:
    January 2, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Hello:
    I am very new to MediaPortal and a recent convert from Microsoft MCE. My system is a recent fresh load of Windows 10. Its an older i7 laptop with 8gb memory and 480gb SSD. No other issues exist based on a few weeks use of other apps. I have two tuners connected, generic but recognized by Windows 10 and MediaPortal.

    My end goal is to have MediaPortal as the backend TV server for OTA channels only. I hope to use Kodi on the front end from an NVidia Shield console in the TV room. At this point, I am just trying to get MediaPortal working on the one machine as the server and client to simply view TV.

    I should add that I installed NextPVR yesterday and got to the liveTV viewing feature and it crashed too ("Stopped Working" error in Windows).

    My Issue - When I use the client app on the same PC as the server, I turn the TV button on and after 2-3 seconds, I get a Windows dialog box titled "MediaPortal". The error is Media Portal has stopped working, Windows will close the program and notify me of a solution. I then only have the "Close Program" button.

    I setup the system today following the Wiki:
    1) Installed the app
    2) Configured the tuners (Scanned channels on both and found the correct channels
    3) Configured the Recording Folder and Live TV buffer folder (both on an external SATA drive)
    4) I signed up for Scheduled Direct but I have not linked it to MediaPortal yet, not quite sure how to. Would welcome a good guide on linking to Schedules Direct. I really don't want to have a manual process for updating the guide.

    The USB TV Tuners are showing as "AVerMedia TECHNOLOGIES, Inc, TV Starter Kit for WIndows".

    Another annoying problem is that I have a laptop and an attached 24" display. The external display is my main screen and the laptop is tucked away in a corner. MediaPortal client seems to only open on the laptop screen. Does anyone have a fix for that?

    I have attached the logfile. Can anyone offer words of wisdom for this TV down family!

    Thanks,

    Kevin


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Kevin G

    Kevin G New Member

    Joined:
    January 2, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    UPDATE
    1) I got the EPG working and can see all the correct date in the guide.
    2) The MediaPortal client crashes every time I select TV. Kodi does the same although I've really not spent too much time configuring that.

    I decided to remove my two AVes USB tuners and put in a USB Hauppauge 950 which I know was working on MCE. I rescanned the channels in TV setup and have the same problem, MediaPortal crashes as soon as I select TV.

    Please help.....

    Kevin.
     
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello and welcome Kevin

    Great. :)

    I can see this happening, but I can't see the cause. Unfortunately all that's in your MediaPortal log is:
    [2016-01-02 15:00:37,609] [Log ] [MPMain ] [WARN ] - Main: MediaPortal is already running

    Not very useful, right?

    Could you please first configure MediaPortal's TV decoder (codec) preferences:
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...nfiguration/9_Codecs_and_Renderer/1_TV_Codecs

    (Wouldn't hurt to do video, DVD and Blu-Ray codecs at the same time.)
    A reasonable first pass would be to select the LAV option for all except audio renderer (for which I recommend you select the default DirectSound option).

    After that, please ensure MediaPortal is closed and use the Watchdog tool with option 1 to collect log files again.

    Yeah, this is a MediaPortal problem, not a TV Server problem. It's gonna happen regardless of the tuner(s) you use. You can put the AVerMedia ones back in... or leave 'em out, whatever works for you.

    Regards,
    mm
     
  5. Kevin G

    Kevin G New Member

    Joined:
    January 2, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    First off - Thank you. I checked the codecs as you suggested. I know I had the LAV package downloaded and I know they showed up in the options when I originally setup. Anyways, I had two of them set to FFLMPEG or something like that. I changed them and was about to setup to capture a better error log. When I setup the watcher, the media portal client started and went into TV. Absolutely awesome. I know I had all in LAV at one point but whatever it was, I am happy.

    Now I am back to my main goal of connecting an Android client (Nvidia Shield). I actually made good progress and have the TV option and guide on the android. When I hit play on a channel, I get an error flash up that says it cannot access C:\ProgramData\TeamMedia (or whatever the MediaPortal folder is). I know I added my Windows credentials in the device. I also setup a new user with specific permissions to the directory it was looking in. Still no joy. I know I am close.

    Its an intriguing model with the clients, server and add-ins. I look forward to learning more and fine tuning my setup to have what I want.

    Kevin.
     
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Haha, isn't that the way it always seems to go. :)

    Sorry, this is not something I can help with. Hopefully somebody else will be able to assist you...
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!