[solved] - MP2.2.1 TV-Server Configuration wont start after initial installation

Discussion in 'General' started by Old_Newbie, May 1, 2019.

  1. Old_Newbie
    • Premium Supporter

    Old_Newbie MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 17, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    New install of MP2.2.1 (TV-Server Only) on Windows Server 2012 R2. MP2 completes the initial install with no errors (I get the "Installation Complete" window).



    But when I go to launch the TV Server configuration after initial install, nothing happens. In task manager, I can see the TV Server configuration app running (using ~5-10% CPU), but the configuration window will never open.

    -
    I've installed the BDA patch and can confirm my tuner works with DVBviewer. ​
    - Firewall is off​
    - Antivirus is off​
    - Disabled extra NICs​
    - Running as admins​


    Error from log file is as follows (continues to repeat init attempts):
    [2019-04-30 21:56:54,617] [10665 ] [TVService] [INFO ] - Controller: 1 init attempt
    [2019-04-30 21:56:54,625] [10673 ] [TVService] [INFO ] - C:\ProgramData\Team MediaPortal\MP2-Server\SlimTVCore\v3.0\gentle.config
    [2019-04-30 21:56:54,626] [10674 ] [TVService] [INFO ] - Controller: using SQLite database connection: Data So
    [2019-04-30 21:56:54,627] [10675 ] [TVService] [INFO ] - Controller: local ip address:192.168.1.1
    [2019-04-30 21:56:54,628] [10676 ] [TVService] [INFO ] - Controller: create new server in database
    [2019-04-30 21:56:54,678] [10726 ] [TVService] [INFO ] - Controller: new server created for HOME_SERVER master:True
    [2019-04-30 21:56:54,742] [10790 ] [TVService] [ERROR] - Failed to initialise the BDA device detection graph!
    System.Runtime.InteropServices.COMException (0x80040154): Retrieving the COM class factory for component with CLSID {A2E30750-6C3D-11D3-B653-00C04F79498E} failed due to the following error: 80040154 Class not registered (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80040154 (REGDB_E_CLASSNOTREG)).
    at System.Runtime.Remoting.RemotingServices.AllocateUninitializedObject(RuntimeType objectType)
    at System.Runtime.Remoting.Activation.ActivationServices.CreateInstance(RuntimeType serverType)
    at System.Runtime.Remoting.Activation.ActivationServices.IsCurrentContextOK(RuntimeType serverType, Object[] props, Boolean bNewObj)
    at TvLibrary.Implementations.DeviceDetector.InitBdaDetectionGraph()
    at TvLibrary.Implementations.DeviceDetector..ctor(IDeviceEventListener listener)
    [2019-04-30 21:56:54,751] [10799 ] [TVService] [INFO ] - Controller: DeInit.
    [2019-04-30 21:56:54,752] [10800 ] [TVService] [ERROR] - TvController: Deinit failed - Object reference not set to an instance of an object.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,579
    Likes Received:
    1,110
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,384 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Installation is not correct.

    Did you do this before unpacking and launching the installer:
     
  4. Old_Newbie
    • Premium Supporter

    Old_Newbie MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 17, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Thanks for the suggestion. Will check it out tonight (when I get off work) and see if the zip archive is the issue.
     
  5. Old_Newbie
    • Premium Supporter

    Old_Newbie MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 17, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    So I'm not seeing an "Allow Access" content box anywhere. Can you explain with a little more detail please?
     
  6. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,579
    Likes Received:
    1,110
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,384 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  7. Old_Newbie
    • Premium Supporter

    Old_Newbie MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 17, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    That checkbox is not in Windows Server 2012 R2 content boxes. I'm installing as administrator, and I don't have any software restriction policies. DVBViewer installed fine, can view channels, and pulled EPGs as well. what does MP2 need on its first run (server only) that could be stopping it?
     
  8. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,579
    Likes Received:
    1,110
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,384 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Then things point to the BDA drivers. They are either the wrong ones or not correctly installed.

    Are you running 2012 in the Essential or Datastore version?
     
  9. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,579
    Likes Received:
    1,110
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,384 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  10. Old_Newbie
    • Premium Supporter

    Old_Newbie MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 17, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I've got 2012 R2 Standard. Thanks for the link (I looked everywhere in the forums and documentation but couldn't find anything close)! I'll give the guide over there a try. I think the Essentials Media Pack may be the missing key.
     
  11. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,579
    Likes Received:
    1,110
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,384 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Right, media management is not working without it.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!