MP2 Live TV setup help (1 Viewer)

eggmoe

Portal Member
August 5, 2015
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Hello,
I'm fairly new to MP, one of the new converts from Microsoft Media Center. I've successfully have a MP1 server and client running with a Ceton 6 ETH, and a digital cable card. I'm now interested in trying MP2. So far I think I understand that I need to run a MP1 server with Mpextended, and a MP2 client. I've installed a new MP1 server with MPExtended, and I have a MP2 client. Can someone help me with a walk-through on how to configure this setup? When I go into my MP2 client I do not see anything under Server settings.

morpheus_xx

Retired Team Member
  • Team MediaPortal
  • March 24, 2007
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    If you like to use MP1+TvServer in combination with MP2 this needs to:
    • Dowload https://www.team-mediaportal.com/extensions/mp2-plugins/slimtv-mpextended.
      • Extract the plugin to C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MP2-Client\Plugins
      • Remove/delete the C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MP2-Client\Plugins\SlimTv.NativeProvider (there can be only one).
    • Configure server name, user and password in MP2->Settings->Plugins->TV for MPextended access
    • If you have MP2-Server installed, you need to remove/delete the inbuilt TV-Plugin from C:\Program Files (x86)\Team MediaPortal\MP2-Server\Plugins\SlimTv.Service3
    If you have installed MP1 only for getting TV (and not for other reasons), you might consider only this installer of MP2: https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/mediaportal-2-sr15-update-1-snapshot-2015-08-03.131533/. It's a bugfix for Summer'15 release and contains everything you need to watch TV.