[solved] - MP2 Not discovering all movies

Discussion in 'Newcomers Forum' started by ManChild63, June 13, 2019.

1. ManChild63

ManChild63 New Member

Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi all,

I'm new to MP & this forum, so apologies if I'm doing anything stupid here.

I've recently built a Win10 PC to be my media portal 2 with the intention of ripping my DVD collection (Handbrake, saving as .mp4) and then using MediaPortal2 to organise & play them. The films are stored under a parent folder of c:\films and then an individual sub-folder for each move (eg c:\films\armageddon). The media source for MP2 is set at the parent folder of c:\films.

I have a problem whereby it won't import a film (Gravity) into the database and show it under 'movies', even though the DVD was ripped with the same parameters as the others (which have been recognised). When MP2 is in folder browse mode (rather than library mode) then I can see and play the movie. I've tried invoking the manual import but no good, I've even tried creating an additional media source of the parent directory of the movie, but still no good.

Any idea's?

Also, is there a way to manually choose which image is selected for the movie as an icon?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Mark

2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement

to hide all adverts.
  3. Lehmden
    • Premium Supporter

Lehmden Retired Team Member

Ratings:
    +3,618 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    The issue is, "Gravity" is no unique movie name. That's why it is not recognized automatically. You need to add at least the year, but better the "tt number" (means the IMDB- ID number) to the file name. Then you need to remove the not matched movie, trigger a reimport of the share so the "wrong" entry gets removed from the MP2 media library. Now add the movie again to your movie source. Now it will be scrapped again and hopefully recognized properly.