MP2 on Windows Server 2008 (not R2)

Discussion in 'General' started by shuck, October 8, 2015.

  1. shuck

    shuck Portal Member

    Joined:
    July 19, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I read on some past forum posts where MP2 could be installed on unsupported OSes, but the current installer exits when I try to install it on my Windows Server 2008 (non R2) server. I used MP2 only for viewing my movies and TV series that are stored on the server. I am stuck with non R2 server due to lack of driver support for my RAID controller. I am only planning on installing the server for the database and not any live TV viewing. Is there any way to override this to at least try it to see if it works?


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Lehmden
    • Premium Supporter

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,946
    Likes Received:
    2,152
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,636 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi.
    Sorry, but as far as I know Server 2008 is based on Vista. And Vista is not enough to run MP2, so for this Server 2008 also is not... I can not tell you exactly what's missing but MP2 can not work on Vista and older...
     
  4. MrTechno
    • Team MediaPortal

    MrTechno Development Group

    Joined:
    February 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    275
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +515 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Do you get an error when you try to install? I have MP2 Server installed on Windows Home Server 2011 which is obviously not the same but I don't have any install problems.
     
  5. aspik
    • Team MediaPortal

    aspik Development Group

    Joined:
    April 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,360
    Likes Received:
    365
    Ratings:
    +596 / 1
    I know that I've read long time ago about the limitations... and found this very old thread with a explanation.
     
  6. breese
    • Premium Supporter

    breese Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    Have you tried to set the installer for compatability mode Windows 7?
    Right Click on the installer, goto properties
    Set compatability mode to Windows 7.
    Run the installer.

    Just a thought... I have it running on Windows 2012
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!