My Own Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) | Page 2

Discussion in 'Newcomers Forum' started by rekenaar, January 30, 2009.

  1. rekenaar
    • Premium Supporter

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    How do I collect proper log files to assist team members who wants to help me?

    Follow these guidelines.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. rekenaar
    • Premium Supporter

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    How do I THANK someone?

    Every post, except your own, will have a THANKS! button at the bottom. It will only be visible after your 5th post.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. rekenaar
    • Premium Supporter

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    How do I adjust the text scroll speed?

    This can be done from within MediaPortal.
    Go to Settings, Screen setup, Scroll speed.
     
  5. rekenaar
    • Premium Supporter

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    How do I configure the video skip/jump steps?

    The left/right skip steps can be configured in MP Configuration.
    The up/down skip steps is skipping 10% at a time and is not currently configurable in 1.0.2. Enhancement coming soon!! Version 1.1.0 allow for configuring the up/down skip steps as a percentage or seconds value.

    You can also key in the video position as HHMM eg to jump to 37 minutes, key in 0037
     
  6. rekenaar
    • Premium Supporter

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    What TV Cards are supported?

    thanks RTV

    TV Server supports all available TV cards that ship with BDA drivers. Check the manufacturer website to determine if it is available. You can also search the MediaPortal forums to see what other users report.
    Only special features (like e.g. Common Interface support) need a specific implementation.

    Generally speaking, a card with hardware encoding will give better results.
     
  7. rekenaar
    • Premium Supporter

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    What is SVN?

    SVN is short for SubVersion. SubVersion is a versioning system popular amongst software developers to keep track of changes between them. Each time a change/fix is comitted to the repository, the SVN number increase.

    Our developers release regular SVN versions to the public. When used in that sentence, it just means that it is a newer version of MediaPortal that will contain all updates/fixes/additions up to that specific revision number.

    SVN versions should normally be used only for testing purposes, but sometimes it can give you a nice head start on new features if you are willing to take the risk.

    SVN releases are normally based on the latest full release and normally it is possible to apply a SVN version without losing existing settings.

    Sometimes you will read in mantis or in a developer's post that a certain issue is fixed in a certain SVN number. That does not mean it is immediately available for you to download and test. You might have to wait for the next public SVN release to be published.
     
  8. rekenaar
    • Premium Supporter

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    Can I change my Home menu?

    Just to clarify, there are two menus in MP. HOME and BASIC HOME. In the MP Configuration, there's an option under GENERAL where you can select which one to start with.

    To change the HOME menu, you can simply right click on a plugin (in MP Configuration) and select/deselect the Show in Home option.

    To change the BASIC HOME menu is a bit more complex. Well, not always.
    It depends on your favourite skin.
    If you are using something like B3/B3W, you will have to edit the basichome.xml file in the skin directory. Lets not go there now. If you want to go there, first read up the skinning docs and then return to the forum with your specific questions for our skinning experts.
    If you are using something like XFactor, StreamedMP or Aeon Wide (or others with menu editor), then you can just use the included menu editor to create your own basichome.xml. A lot easier.
     
  9. rekenaar
    • Premium Supporter

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    Can I share database files between PC's on my LAN?

    Yes, but please note that the SQLLite database that is used in MP 1, does not support concurrent database updates from different users. Concurrent reads should be fine. See the Central Database page in the manual.
     
  10. rekenaar
    • Premium Supporter

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    Is there a way to get MP to follow shortcuts?

    Lets say you have pictures (or videos/music) that you want to show up in two shares, a normal Windows shortcut will not work. A plugin was created a while ago to follow shortcuts, but not for pictures. A good alternative for me is to use a hardlink. It act as if the file is duplicated, but it is not. Very useful. More information.
     
  11. rekenaar
    • Premium Supporter

    rekenaar Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,421
    Likes Received:
    782
    Ratings:
    +785 / 0
    Home Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    I do not want to recreate all my SHARES on a new installation. How do I transfer it?

    The BackupSettings plugin can assist you. Just remember that MP team recommends a clean install if you experience problems.

    If you would rather do a clean install, you can still re-use your SHARES with a little xml editing.
    All the shares for video/pictures/music are stored in meadiaportal.xml. I am however hessitant to restore the whole file on a new install.
    I do a manual edit to insert my shares.
    Example, lets say you have two video shares, replace the following code in the new installation with the same code from your backup:
    Replace with YOUR OWN backup code:
    Same concept for Pictures and Music. For each SHARE there is a set of tags.
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!