New Install - MP gets stuck @ directx or loading tv server (1 Viewer)

Srakha

February 27, 2011
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
I am having an issue getting a new install of mediaportal to load. This is my first time installing MP, so maybe I am overlooking something obvious. I have used windows update to get all the updated drivers for windows and directx, and I have downloaded the newest drivers for my tv cards and my video card. At the moment, I use remote desktop to log onto the PC via wireless modem/router to configure it. I have the windows background set to a blank color. I've run the configuration exe and got it to find channels on one of the tuners (I only have one hooked up to cable atm), and haven't really messed with anything else there, didn't install any new plugins, whatever came with it is what is installed.

Anyone have any ideas? Thanks for any help you can give me :)

MediaPortal Version: 1.1.3.0
MediaPortal Skin: default
Windows Version: windows xp pro sp3
CPU Type: p4 2.80 ghz
HDD: western digital sata ~2 TB
Memory: 2gb ddr2
Motherboard: gigabyte
Video Card: nvidia geforce 7600gs
Video Card Driver: 6.14.12.6658
Sound Card: onboard via
Sound Card AC3:
Sound Card Driver:
1. TV Card: hauppauge pvr500 dual
1. TV Card Type: analog
1. TV Card Driver: 2.0.48.25037
2. TV Card: hauppauge pvr500 dual
2. TV Card Type: analog
2. TV Card Driver: 2.0.48.25037
3. TV Card:
3. TV Card Type:
3. TV Card Driver:
4. TV Card:
4. TV Card Type:
4. TV Card Driver:
MPEG2 Video Codec:
MPEG2 Audio Codec:
h.264 Video Codec:
Satelite/CableTV Provider:
HTPC Case:
Cooling: 3 fans (2 case one cpu)
Power Supply: thermaltake 430 W
Remote: none yet
TV: not hooked up yet
TV - HTPC Connection:

pilehave

Community Skin Designer
  • Premium Supporter
  • April 2, 2008
    Hornslet
    Home Country
    Denmark Denmark
    You can't actually run MediaPortal from Remote Desktop on Windows XP. Is this what you are trying?

Srakha

February 27, 2011