[Blog] - Next level of error analysis for MediaPortal 2

Discussion in 'News and Announcements' started by morpheus_xx, September 12, 2014.

  1. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,082
    Likes Received:
    4,765
    Ratings:
    +6,823 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Requiem
    • Premium Supporter

    Requiem MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 1, 2012
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    80
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +174 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Sounds nice. Wouldn't htis be a great feature for MP1 also?
     
  4. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,082
    Likes Received:
    4,765
    Ratings:
    +6,823 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    This is theoretecial possible, but I doubt that this would work: MP1 would require a lot of code changes in every part where exceptions are caught.

    In contrast to MP1, for MP2 there where only few lines of code needed, as it simply intercepts error containing log messages...
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  5. kilik360
    • Premium Supporter

    kilik360 MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 3, 2010
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    155
    Ratings:
    +239 / 2
    Home Country:
    Canada Canada
    Show System Specs
    This plugin should be intergrated in MP2.
     
  6. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,082
    Likes Received:
    4,765
    Ratings:
    +6,823 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    It's amazing how many errors can be produced by few users... Do you know user with french locale and who uses Ambilight plugin (before fix)? :whistle:

    You'll get some thousands of exception reports if it occurres in render loop :)
    stats_20140915.png
    We already found some exceptions that need to be fixed, I'm sure most of them we would not have even known...

    To include or not: we discussed this in our Team, there are few ways to think about:
    1. Include it into setup
    2. Extending our installer to opt-in for install
    3. Get our package manager finish and offer such important plugins as "recommended to have"
    While 1) would be immediately possible, we don't want users to send data to the OTE service without their agreement.
    2) is difficult, as there is currently no dev who can change installer
    3) is our preferred way, as we need to get a working solution for plugin management in any case.
     
    • Like Like x 3
  7. azzuro
    • Team MediaPortal

    azzuro Test Group

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    8,520
    Likes Received:
    2,566
    Occupation:
    technician HVAC
    Location:
    France - IDF
    Ratings:
    +4,251 / 13
    Home Country:
    France France
    Show System Specs
    me. ...

    in setup with accept or skip this setting.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!