1.15.0 - No EPG due for unknown reason. (worked before))

Discussion in 'Archive' started by Al_Capone, November 20, 2016.

  1. Al_Capone
    • Premium Supporter

    Al_Capone MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 26, 2006
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    now and then , I need the edit the mediaportal.xml to make Norwegian audio default for DVB-S - because the GUI does not allow me to choose "nor" (NORwegian) , only uncommon stuff like nno, nob.

    Worse: I am completely unable to make the EPG grab right data, because of this mess (see attachment)
    apparently I have "nno" and two "nob" - but not one of what really matters: "nor" - and I can't find a file to edit this in...



    BTW: same problem with MP2
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Al_Capone
    • Premium Supporter

    Al_Capone MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 26, 2006
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    is this place abandoned ?
     
  4. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    No. Sometimes responses take awhile because we have other priorities. Thanks for your understanding.

    MP does not intentionally prevent selection of "nor". As explained in the past, the list of languages comes from Windows/.NET.

    Do you understand that the list shown in your attachment is only used when EPG data contains titles, descriptions etc. for more than one language? In other words, the fact that "nor" is not in the list [on your system] will not prevent you from getting EPG data. Therefore please can you give a fuller explanation of why "this mess" is actually relevant.

    The list comes from Windows/.NET as mentioned above.
    The setting value is stored in TV Server's database.

    I can't help you with MP2.
     
  5. Al_Capone
    • Premium Supporter

    Al_Capone MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 26, 2006
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    ok. :)
    as for the EPG, It has worked for years, - then stopped around april-may. this year - no amount of updating satellite list , or rescanning, even deleting all EPG and re-scanning helps.
    nor does MP2

    I am again completely unable to troubleshoot it, as there are no simple way to see what's going on. (in terms of what's being found and what is not.)

    - my wife wants to throw out MP from the house , to me it's a pity, while I would like to get completely rid of the windows, MP is the simplest way to have one computer with tuners, and stream in movie room ++. Finally, that would be the end of proper displays in bath and living room, as "TV"s would take over due to proximity to the dish.
     
  6. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Right - I guessed this all tied back to your previous EPG thread. ;)

    I guess that your wife doesn't care and just wants the problem solved, but nevertheless I'd like to emphasize again: the availability of "nor" in the EPG language list makes no difference to whether you receive EPG or not. At worst the missing "nor" could only result in EPG data for the wrong language (eg. maybe Swedish or Finnish instead of Norwegian). Receiving no EPG data at all is a completely unrelated problem.

    As above: if any EPG data were found - even for the wrong language - you would still see it. Therefore it seems most likely that nothing is found. This could be because:
    • EPG data is no longer available
    • EPG data is available in a different format that TV Server does not support
    • your EPG grabber config is incorrect, and that causes TV Server to not find the EPG data
    I'm willing to try to help you to regain your EPG data. For practical reasons I will need direct access to your TV Server using TeamViewer. Please remember I can only help with MP1.

    Would you like my assistance?
     
  7. Al_Capone
    • Premium Supporter

    Al_Capone MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 26, 2006
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    Yes, I did understand the country code is not the issue, I just grabbed onto that one thing I could guess in a desperate moment where I realized I were unable to troubleshoot further.

    Yes, I would appreciate help very much, can install Teamviewer. will PM you :)
     
  8. Al_Capone
    • Premium Supporter

    Al_Capone MP Donator

    Joined:
    September 26, 2006
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +19 / 1
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    Show System Specs
    I cannot start a conversation with you, please PM me :)
     
  9. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
  10. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Just to close off this thread...
    Solution for no EPG data described here:
    Norwegain (Canal Digital) DVB-S EPG stopped working

    Language code "NOR" being unavailable for selection in MP and/or TV Server Configuration is system-specific. The list of language codes comes from Windows/.NET cultures. With a little code, it's possible to add custom cultures for missing language codes:
    https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms172469(v=vs.100).aspx

    For example, to create "NOR" based on "NOB":
    Code (Text):
    1. CultureAndRegionInfoBuilder carib = new CultureAndRegionInfoBuilder("nr-NO", CultureAndRegionModifiers.None);
    2. carib.LoadDataFromCultureInfo(new CultureInfo("nb-NO"));
    3. carib.LoadDataFromRegionInfo(new RegionInfo("NO"));
    4. carib.ThreeLetterISOLanguageName = "nor";
    5. carib.Register();
    6.  
    If you want to remove it later:
    Code (Text):
    1. CultureAndRegionInfoBuilder.Unregister("nr-NO");
    Thread marked as "no bug".
     
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!