No smooth playback of live TV (1 Viewer)

hol353

Portal Member
May 5, 2009
Home Country
I have been using MP1 for many years on my current hardware (old but worked well with MP1). I've now reformatted my HDD and installed MP2 to give it a try. Looks really, really good except...

Occasionally, live-tv becomes jumpy after a period of time (e.g. 20 minutes) and then goes smooth again and later jumpy again. By jumpy I mean it seems to drop frames every second or so. Really noticeable on horizontal pans. Seems like something kicks in in the background and does something that affects live tv. I haven't noticed the problem on recorded TV or movies although I haven't watched many.

I've tried lots of things. I've turned off EPG grabbing, fiddled with the nvidia display settings, put the timeshift buffer on it's on HDD, swapped from LAV filter back to Microsoft's built in codec. CPU usage sits at around 10% or lower when live tv is running.

Q: Is there an equivalent to the MP1 shift 1 screen that shows lots of details about refresh rates, frame rates, moving graphs, resolution etc? That was really handy in trying to diagnose problems like this.

I haven't got MP1 installed on this setup yet. I've been trying to avoid doing that.

Any other suggestions that I can try?

Dean
--- Post updated ---
Sorry logs attached. Note that it was jumpy around 18:40 29/09/2016:

HTPCSourcer

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • May 16, 2008
    Home Country
    Germany Germany
    Hi Dean,

Your server log is taken at INFO level. Can you please set it to ALL as explained under "Adjusting log levels for diagnostics" here? Then please try to reproduce the issue and post the new set of logs.