No Sound after installing MediaPortal 2 (1 Viewer)

Mark Miller

March 21, 2016
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
I just installed MediaPortal 2 as Client & Server on same Windows 7 64-bit machine that currently runs Windows Media Center.
I have a HD HomeRun Prime with 3-tuners and CableCard using Comcast service.
The Samsung TV is receiving video and audio signal from the HTPC via HDMI cable.
Sound is sent to my Pioneer amp through digital sound cable from the TV backpanel.
Windows 7 shows my sound device as "Digital Audio (HDMI)".

I've been running this setup for 3 years using WMC and it has worked very well for us. I am now looking to switch to MP because of Microsoft's decision to discontinue WMC in Windows 10, which I will eventually upgrade to.

So, I now have MP2 installed, server is running, channels are configured, all channels are scanned on all three tuners.

With WMC not running, all tuners are available, I can open MP2, select and view a TV channel without trouble, except there is NO SOUND.

When I am navigating around the MP2 Client, selecting various menu options, I DO hear the normal beeps and tones associated with the UI, there is only no sound when viewing live TV or recorded video. The TV picture and video looks fine, just NO SOUND.

In MP2, I go to Settings->Players->Audio Player->Configure output device. In this menu I have tried the following combinations:
1. Direct Sound -> Digital Audio (HDMI).
2. WASAPI -> Exclusive Mode Checked -> Digital Audio (HDMI)
3. WASAPI -> Exclusive Mode UnChecked -> Digital Audio (HDMI)
4. WASAPI -> Exclusive Mode Unchecked-> Digital Audio (S/PDIF)
5. WASAPI -> Exclusive Mode Checked-> Digital Audio (S/PDIF)​
Also, I have been to Settings->Players->Codecs->Audio Codecs and I have the following installed:
1. MPEG1/2 Audio Codec: Microsoft DTV-DVD Audio Decoder
2. LATM-AAC Audio Codec: Nothing installed, I just see "Set the LATM-AAC audio codec"