No tuner (1 Viewer)

hopeflicker

Portal Member
October 22, 2006
Home Country
United States of America United States of America
Hi all, MP noob here. Hopefully some of you can clear up some probs that ive been having.
First, here's my specs.

Wix XP pro (sp2)
.net
directx

512MB memory
1.6 gig processor-

Card: Happauage dual tuner (500 MCE)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

So Ive installed media portal twice and i'm either missing someting or I'm clearly oblivous to setting it up correctly.
Im using the teh TV wizard to setup my capture card. Under the capture card it shows both TV tuners. So all is good there. I click on autotune and enter USA and select Cable for input source and press scan. I notice it's only tuning in channels 1-126 and not my entire line up (close to 999 channels). Only the progress bar moves. The signal strenght and signal quality remains empty. something doesn't seem right here.

I do the same thing for my second tuner.

Im using the zap2it plug in becasue i read it rather simple to setup. I got the set up and working now.

So now when i click on TV on I get a NO Tuner can receive channel XXXX or someting along those lines.
any suggestions?:D

tyball

September 23, 2006
Home Country
i have also a Hauppauge 500 and i to have this problem somethimes. When you remove 1 of the tuners in MP setup the problem dissapears.( but you can only use 1 tuner instead of 2 afcourse). I think it has something to do with the TVDatabaseV21.db3 file.

hopeflicker

Portal Member
October 22, 2006
Home Country
well, i just removed my 2nd tuner and that didnt fix it :(
I think i read something about the Haupp 500 having probs with the 2nd tuner somewhere but i cant remember where.

tyball

September 23, 2006
Home Country
When i happens i uninstall MP and remove all the remaining files. Then reinstall and it somethimes magically works. I try then not using the wizard but use the MP setup.

hopeflicker

Portal Member