Not playing dvr-ms files (1 Viewer)

L00pback

Portal Member
September 10, 2011
Home Country
New Zealand New Zealand
Hi

I'm new to MP (1.2RC) and am having a problem that I need some help with.

I've been using Windows Media Center in Windows 7 for some time now and have lots of recorded TV shows (mainly for the kids). The problem is that when I point MP to one of these recorded programs I get the error:-

Unable to play: Name of file

Video codec: MPEG VIDEO VERSION 2
Audio codec: MPEG AUDIO VERSION 2

I've tried using MCEBuddy to convert them to MP4 and still they don't play.

What am I doing wrong?

Oh, the rest of the setup like TV, TV clients etc all work fantastic and I'd just like to thank all the devs for making MP so good.
:D

I'm sure my trouble is something I'm doing/haven't done.

I've attached the logs just in case this can point someone in the right direction.

Thanks for reading.

Alan

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi Alan

It looks like MP fails to load the decrypt/tag filter when preparing to play the file. Are you able to confirm whether you have that filter installed in your system? You can use GraphStudio:

1. Download and run GraphStudio.
    2. Click "Graph" -> "Insert Filter...".
    3. Select the "BDA CP/CA Filters" category in the first drop-down box.
    4. Is the "Decrypt/Tag" filter listed there, and does it have a red exclamation mark next to it?

mm

L00pback

Portal Member
    September 10, 2011
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi MM and thanks for the quick response and help.

I've downloaded and run GraphStudio as you asked and it has found the Decrypt/Tag and there is no red exclamation mark.

I have just setup MP on two other windows 7 PC's (for TV streaming) and have tried running the recorded TV and none of them can play the files.

The files play fine when run through Windows Media Player.