Occasional Black screen on Live TV and Recorded TV (1 Viewer)

George Leverington

Portal Member
January 30, 2015
Home Country
England England
Hello,

I've been using the fantastic MediaPortal for a couple of years without issue. But I needed to reinstall Windows because things were slowing down.

I've got a nice speedy setup again now with a fresh Windows 10 install & MP 1.22 but I have an issue where if MP were to startup while the TV is off (i.e. scheduled night time reboot), when I next go to use it and I start Live TV or start a Recording and I get a slower load followed by black screen no audio. I have to quit MP and start it again with the TV on to watch TV.

I have attached 2 logs, one is an example of a failed launch of Live TV then a Recording, the other is working launch of the same channel and recording.

I am hoping someone could point me in the right direction. The log on the failed launch has extra lines of "Audio" so I have experimented with various settings in the Startup/Resume and TV Video Codecs and Renderers sections to no avail.

Windows 10 (1903) 64bit, Nvidia GT610 connected to an LG TV via HDMI

Many thanks for your help in advance!

Attachments

• MediaPortalLogs_08_01_20__13_10.zip
    495.7 KB
  • MediaPortalLogs_08_01_20__13_14.zip
    503 KB

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    So, MediaPortal is configured to use a specific audio renderer/output for TV and TV recordings:
    (from MediaPortal.xml)
    Code:
    <section name="mytv">
      <entry name="audiorenderer">DirectSound: LG TV (NVIDIA High Definition Audio)</entry>

Taking the failed live TV attempt as an example, the log file is pretty clear...
    1. Select channel:
    [2020-01-08 13:09:00,450] [Log ] [MPMain ] [INFO ] - TVHome.ViewChannelAndCheck(): View channel=BBC One HD

2. Try to use configured audio renderer... fails: