Onscreen keyboard to still accept input from real keyboard

Discussion in 'Feature Requests' started by Nikki Locke, February 13, 2019.

  1. Nikki Locke
    • Team MediaPortal

    Nikki Locke Development Group

    Joined:
    February 2, 2019
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    It would be nice if the on-screen keyboard still accepted input from the real keyboard - in other words, you can either move the cursor to "A" on the on-screen keyboard and press OK, or type the letter A on the real keyboard (or "22" if you have phone style input selected, perhaps?).


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,505
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,372 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Why? You can easily move from one to the other.
     
  4. Nikki Locke
    • Team MediaPortal

    Nikki Locke Development Group

    Joined:
    February 2, 2019
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    32
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +59 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    a) It's a bit confusing when you use the mouse. If you click on a field, the keyboard pops up. If you click again on the field, a different keyboard pops up (the Alt Gr one). Is there a reason for that?

    b) It would be handy when using the remote control and the cell phone style input setting. You could type in letters using the number keys, but use the on-screen keyboard for tricky stuff like punctuation.

    Only putting it up here for discussion, in case anyone else thinks it is a good idea.
     
  5. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,505
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,372 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    We often have that kind of discussions in the forum (and the request section).

    Keep in mind that MP2 is a HTPC software that is supposed to be controled with a remote. Everything else is a kind of add-on and confusion arises when users mix different input modes. That said, using MP2 with a keyboard and a remote leads to the observed effect. When the mouse cursor hovers over a field or a MP2 control element, this will automatically get the focus. Simply don't click but activate the entry field by moving the cursor into it, then type on the keyboard.

    Yeah. But how often do you happen to need such kind of input?

    That's fine. Nobody should feel steam-rolled please. However, going further you'll notice that there is other stuff that is not as elegant as we would like it to be. If I had ten Nikkis at my hand, I would probably say, please go for it. As it stands, your energy is possibly better be used in other areas.
     
  6. BlueMax1916
    • Super User

    BlueMax1916 Super User

    Joined:
    January 29, 2007
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    60
    Ratings:
    +119 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi,


    this is a keyboard AND a remote -> MCE Keyboard

    It is very handy for searching the mediathek libraries and YouTube in the Online Videos Plugin. Also for searching for movies and series in the 'search programs' part of the TV section.


    Cheers

    Blue Max
     
  7. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    10,505
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,372 / 21
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    No doubt. May I ask if your wife or partner is using this? Mine would give me a hard time if I took the remote away from here and asked her to use such a device instead.:D I am also having a wireless Keyboard with roller ball mouse and media keys ready, but use the remote 99% of the time.

    This is not meant to convert anybody, but simply that the attempt to please everybody and every possible scenario is set to fail.
     
  8. BlueMax1916
    • Super User

    BlueMax1916 Super User

    Joined:
    January 29, 2007
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    60
    Ratings:
    +119 / 1
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    she learned to use the real keyboard after attempting to use the onscreen keyboard :p

    Cheers

    Blue Max
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!