1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OTA Recording | Page 4

Discussion in 'Other HTPC Applications (no support)' started by David Abineri, January 4, 2017.

  1. David Abineri

    David Abineri Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 19, 2011
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    previously it just started working, I did nothing specific.




     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,065
    Likes Received:
    4,583
    Ratings:
    +7,916 / 15
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    David, at this time I have no further suggestions to add to the PC reboot suggestion. I have no further suggestions because you've given me almost nothing to go on. No log files, no details about anything you changed at the time the remote stopped working, no details about what you've already tried. It's always necessary to provide those sorts of details when you ask for help. If you don't, there's little or nothing we can say or do, because we have nothing to go on.
     
  4. David Abineri

    David Abineri Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 19, 2011
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    My apologies MM, I always forget the log.
    All I have done is restart the computer several times after the remote stopped working for no apparent reason. Does the attached log tell anything useful/
     

    Attached Files:

  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,065
    Likes Received:
    4,583
    Ratings:
    +7,916 / 15
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Yes it does, thanks.

    It shows that the utility responsible for acquiring input from the remote (HCWHelper) is crashing when it tries to get access to the remote:
    Show Spoiler

    "1/26/2017 2:30:17 PM";".NET Runtime";"(0)";"Error";"Application: HcwHelper.exe
    Framework Version: v4.0.30319
    Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception.
    Exception Info: System.AccessViolationException
    at MediaPortal.InputDevices.irremote.IR_Open(Int32, UInt32, Boolean, UInt16)
    at MediaPortal.InputDevices.HcwHelper.HcwHelper.StartIR()
    at MediaPortal.InputDevices.HcwHelper.HcwHelper..ctor()
    at MediaPortal.InputDevices.HcwHelper.Program.Main()

    ";"1026"
    "1/26/2017 2:30:17 PM";"Application Error";"Application Crashing Events";"Error";"Faulting application name: HcwHelper.exe, version: 1.14.0.0, time stamp: 0x5702abcb Faulting module name: irremote.dll, version: 2.68.28350.0, time stamp: 0x4d12509b Exception code: 0xc0000005 Fault offset: 0x0000736c Faulting process id: 0x7e4 Faulting application start time: 0x01d2780a9d928eb8 Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Team MediaPortal\MediaPortal\HcwHelper.exe Faulting module path: C:\PROGRA~1\WinTV\irremote.dll Report Id: 0c3239aa-43f6-4513-803e-c5fbedb86a86 Faulting package full name: Faulting package-relative application ID: ";"1000"


    I guess WinTV, IR32 or some other program that uses the remote is running.
    The remote can only be used by one program at a time.
     
  6. David Abineri

    David Abineri Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 19, 2011
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    I used Task Manager to close IR (whatever that is) and made sure that WinTV was not running. I see HCWHelper using win explorer, should it be in a particular location? New log attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,065
    Likes Received:
    4,583
    Ratings:
    +7,916 / 15
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    That's Hauppauge's remote control receiver program for WinTV.

    No particular location.

    As far as I can tell, the remote should be working.
     
  8. David Abineri

    David Abineri Portal Pro

    Joined:
    July 19, 2011
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +4 / 1
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Thanks, MM. Part of the issue seems to be a possible intermittent connection by the cable to the IR receiver or the plug into the tuner card.

    It is working now! Thanks again
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Like Us On Facebook

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!