Perfect stable setup (1 Viewer)

Poko

MP Donator
  • Premium Supporter
  • February 1, 2007
    Home Country
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi all,
    Firstly, I'd just like to voice my thanks to developing this brilliant piece of software.
    I've been using it on and off for a couple of years now and it just keeps getting better.

Now, my question is, if money was no object, what would be the most stable hardware/software combination?
    What I'm essentially after is a dedicated TV server, which needs to be rebooted perhaps at most once or twice a year (like a regular corporate server), and a couple of dedicated clients.

My setup currently is a home-made PC acting as a dedicated server (DVB-S), and a couple of Dell Studio Hybrids (downgraded to XP SP3) as dedicated clients. I do have some instability, where a TV service restart is required a couple of times a week, and the clients need to be bounced too.

What I'd like to ask is if ANY hardware could be chosen for rock solid performance and stability, what would you choose?

UK Freesat is a requirement, as is HDTV (720p only).. I don't need any fancy plug-ins, just pure stability. Which OSs would be the ones of choice?
    What software would you load on both the server and the clients (as little as possible, ofc) - Disable windows updates, that kind of thing. Build it once and forget it.

Has anyone achieved a great deal of stability with MP, and if so, would it be possible to list the hardware that you have used for client/server (including TV cards). And a list of the perfect combination of software would be grand. IE. MP 1.0.2, XP codecs pack, some H264 codecs, etc etc.

I realise that some of this is covered by the install guide and there is plenty of info on these forums to advice what CAN be used, but it'd be lovely to have a definitive guide for a perfect setup.

Appreciate the help!
    Thanks.

Guzzi

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • August 20, 2007
    Hi all,