Playback issues on client (1 Viewer)

Berrigan

Portal Member
February 11, 2013
Home Country
Australia Australia
I have been using mediaportal for a few years as a single seat install , about 8 months ago I setup a server with only mediaportal on it under win7 and 3 clients in the house using various computers and frontends.
Everything was working perfectly until last week when we were unable to watch any recorded tv or play live tv on any computers even the server. ( this was wth both the mediaportal 1.16 front ends and a new build of KODI I have setup in the kids room. )

I initially tried sorting out only the server by using the windows recover point to get it back to a date when everything was working perfectly - did not fix the issue
Then a mediaportal full complete uninstall using the supplied uninstall program , I tried to used the new version 2 as a reinstall with again no playback of tv or recorded tv ( all only on the server to try and troubleshoot first )
I then used the uninstall program again I then tried to reinstall v1.16 - same issues.
I then did a full system format and reinstall of windows and a reinstall of v1.16 - everything back to the way is was and working on the server properly.
I then tried all the client computers both with kodi and mediaportal - they all see the tv guide fine and recorded programs but will not play any of them.
I then tried to use the uninstall program on one of the client pc's and a full reinstall but still the same issues.

I think there is something wrong in the registrys somehow but I am unable to do full reinstall of windows on each of the servers due to not having all the years of data or programs avasilable etc - how can I remove all registry entrys to do a proper full deletion of mediaportal so I can do a full clean install on each machine without reinstalling windows.

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand