Plugin suggestion: Run exectuable on channel change

Discussion in 'TV-Server Plugins' started by optimalt, May 26, 2015.

  1. optimalt

    optimalt Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 19, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    I get live-tv in MP through capture cards (Hauppague Colossus) connected to set top boxes. It would be relly nice if there was a TV-server plugin that reacted on the channel change event in the TV-server and ran an executable (.bat/.exe) with the channel name/number as a parameter. That would give me (and hopefully others) much better contol over the channel changes. For example you could use the plugin to generate an event in eventghost and control the STB with a blaster which works in Eventghost (and of course do a lot of other stuff i you want).

    I have tried the ServerBlaster-plugin, but it only supports the Hauppague IR Blaster which I find unreliable. I briefly tried the IRSS but it was complicated to set up and I never got a grip on how it works.

    I think that the Plugin Events section in the wiki could be a good help to anybody who would be interested in developing such a plugin:
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/1_...ent/TV-Server/TV-Server_Plugins/Plugin_Events



    Also, NextPVR has an option to trigger an exceutable on channel change which works really good:
    http://gbpvr.com/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Config/ChannelChanger

    Hopefully someone more than me are interested in this plugin :)

    Thank you!
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Somebody else proposed the same idea about 1 year ago. I liked it so much that I decided to add the feature (built-in; no plugin required) in TVE 3.5. Currently the code is present but there's no user interface to configure the EXE location etc. In general I intend to improve blaster support a lot over time...
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
  6. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    ahhh it was well before then lol. maybe no one likes my ideas :)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Not even! :)
    I've implemented this idea of yours in TVE 3.5 too:
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...r-to-schedule-a-task-to-update-the-epg.68823/

    That's from August 2009, so I think you could safely take the credit in that case. Proof that you definitely have some good ideas. :)
    ...and if you have some more ideas [for TV Server], I'd be happy to listen... :)
     
  8. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,742
    Likes Received:
    1,417
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,846 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    hah! thats nice!

    If I start using tv-server again I'm sure I'll be using that feature :p

    I currently only watch downloaded video :D
     
  9. optimalt

    optimalt Portal Member

    Joined:
    August 19, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    Home Country:
    Sweden Sweden
    It sounds great that it is possible to run an executable on channel change in TVE 3.5! I think I will try MP2 for this reason only.

    However (at least as I understand it), for now TVE 3.5 can't be used by MP1, Kodi, Emby or any client except MP2 until someone writes add-ons for these clients (personally I use MP1, Kodi and Emby).

    Given that you have managed to create this feature in TVE 3.5, is there any way you could find time to make such a plugin for TVE 3? That would be very much appreciated - at least from me :). Of course, I completely understand if you are reluctant to do this - reading this thread I understand you already have much on your plate as the only developer of TVE 3.5: https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/tve3-5-for-mp1.129997)

    Thank you!
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2015
  10. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Sure, give it a shot... but expect a few hickups. TVE 3.5 is a work in progress, as is MP2.

    That's correct.

    Sorry, I'm not able to do this in the foreseeable future.
     
  11. Nervesagent

    Nervesagent Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 26, 2014
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +14 / 0
    Home Country:
    Denmark Denmark
    It can be done in a messy way...using VODSERVER.
    If you edit the play.xml file in such a way that it will display your channel (or a dummy mp4 file) and run an executable.
    I tried describing the way I did it in this topic
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/...internet-streams-as-tv-channels.121732/page-7

    I was able to run vlc when switching to a certain channel, but since I had no dummy mp4 running in the background, timeshifting gave me an error. Like I said.. it can be done.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!