Possible issue with MP2 alpha 4

Discussion in 'General' started by JimCatMP, December 21, 2013.

  1. JimCatMP
    • Team MediaPortal

    JimCatMP Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 1, 2010
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    153
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +282 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I'm posting this as a possible rather than a bug as given nature of problem I would expect it to be already posted and it's sufficiently fundamental to make me think it's my system and not MP2.

    Setup.

    Win7 Pro, client & server on same unit, all pre-req's met.

    Into setup, and set up shares.

    Finds shares on the network [not a big network, not lightening fast either, this takes around 70 seconds].

    List shares, and my media store is on BNAS - a Freecom DualDrive nas unit [nice and simple].

    Problem - MP2 will NOT expand the share list on that unit [pressing +]. It would happily accept the whole unit as a path, but refuses to expand the share. It will expand shares on other Windows7 units [as shown in screen shot].

    mp2-share.png


    The BNAS itself, from network view on PC.

    net-share.png


    I've tired unmapping the BNAS drives [Disk1 & Disk_2 - mapped so I can access content via Cygwin]:
    changing the Server config setting for authentication [de-selecting Use Credentials {access IS anonymous} in Network credential {this removed ALL resource providers};
    and setting user & passwords TOO anonymous.



    Log files for client & Server [don't show me anything I would consider relevant, but..........]

    I have run earlier versions of MP2 on this hardware, but as recently had to re-install Win 7 [RIP C:], AND have installed VMBox on platform [not running in virtual and virtual services are stopped], other network elements unchanged however.

    Overall, some oddness in Windows networking is my assumption that MP2 is 'unhappy' with.

    Cheers - JCMP
     

    Attached Files:

    • Client.zip
      File size:
      17.2 KB
      Uploaded:
      December 21, 2013
      Views:
      115
    • Server.zip
      File size:
      13.3 KB
      Uploaded:
      December 21, 2013
      Views:
      110
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. breese
    • Premium Supporter

    breese Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    July 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,903
    Likes Received:
    325
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Sr. Systems Engineer
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, Illinois
    Ratings:
    +768 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    Show System Specs
    I see the server is actually named PC64 so the BNas is a separate device.

    What confuses me (and maybe Win7), there appears to be 2 IP address's assigned to PC64
    192.168.1.249
    192.168.56.1
    And different subnets...



    [2013-12-21 15:03:26,669] [2242 ] [Main ] [DEBUG] - UPnPServer: Initializing IP endpoint '127.0.0.1'
    [2013-12-21 15:03:26,719] [2292 ] [Main ] [INFO ] - UPnPServerController: SSDP enabled for IP endpoint '127.0.0.1', search port is 1900
    [2013-12-21 15:03:26,721] [2294 ] [Main ] [DEBUG] - UPnPServer: Initializing IP endpoint 'fe80::a140:79ce:c651:5dfa'
    [2013-12-21 15:03:26,723] [2296 ] [Main ] [INFO ] - UPnPServerController: SSDP enabled for IP endpoint 'fe80::a140:79ce:c651:5dfa', search port is 1900
    [2013-12-21 15:03:26,725] [2298 ] [Main ] [DEBUG] - UPnPServer: Initializing IP endpoint '192.168.1.249'
    [2013-12-21 15:03:26,726] [2299 ] [Main ] [INFO ] - UPnPServerController: SSDP enabled for IP endpoint '192.168.1.249', search port is 1900
    [2013-12-21 15:03:26,732] [2305 ] [Main ] [DEBUG] - UPnPServer: Initializing IP endpoint '192.168.56.1'
    [2013-12-21 15:03:26,733] [2306 ] [Main ] [INFO ] - UPnPServerController: SSDP enabled for IP endpoint '192.168.56.1', search port is 1900
    [2013-12-21 15:03:26,739] [2312 ] [Main ] [INFO ] - UPnP server online hosting 1 UPnP root devices

    ServerConnectionManager: Connected to home server '1179ae4d-227b-474e-baf4-3f86d9542a30' at host 'pc64'
     
  4. MJGraf
    • Premium Supporter

    MJGraf Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 13, 2006
    Messages:
    2,475
    Likes Received:
    796
    Ratings:
    +1,372 / 1
    Multiple IPs for one computer is normal - in particular with things like VMBox. I have the same with VMWare and it's not a problem for MP2.
    JCMP, could you please try to let your MP2 Server Service run with the same credentials you use when you log onto your computer (and have access to your NAS)? If that works, there is a problem with your credentials. Thanks!
     
  5. jehe
    • Team MediaPortal

    jehe Test Group

    Joined:
    February 15, 2011
    Messages:
    694
    Likes Received:
    136
    Ratings:
    +212 / 0
    Home Country:
    Belgium Belgium
    Show System Specs
    Hi,
    I had a similar problem:
    https://forum.team-mediaportal.com/threads/exception-when-adding-shares.123270/


    JimCatMp --> client error log:
     
  6. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,017
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Ratings:
    +6,796 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    @JimCatMP are you sure you are using the Alpha 4 version? Your log doesn't look so...
     
  7. JimCatMP
    • Team MediaPortal

    JimCatMP Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 1, 2010
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    153
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +282 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Doh.

    I saw news link for MP2a4 and downloaded from link, before official release [actually downloaded on 13th] so I have the MP2a3 - dumb and dumber.

    Appreciate the tact Morpheous in the gentle hint. I shall now go and bang head on wall while reciting 'must check version number' 100 times.

    And then I'll test MP2a4.

    Cheers - J.
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
  8. morpheus_xx
    • Team MediaPortal

    morpheus_xx Lead Dev MP2

    Joined:
    March 24, 2007
    Messages:
    11,017
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Ratings:
    +6,796 / 11
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
  9. JimCatMP
    • Team MediaPortal

    JimCatMP Documentation Group

    Joined:
    April 1, 2010
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    153
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +282 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    OK, now the banging has ceased and I have MP2a4, shares view 100% solid.

    Seem to have problem in audio share - not listing content by DB or folder view, but early days, more digging [and checking my digging] to be done.

    TTFN Chaps - JCMP.[DOUBLEPOST=1387712509][/DOUBLEPOST]

    Problem solved [user error:oops: Breese, thanks to looking all the same.

    Subnets issue - as I have Virtual Box installed, it creates a virtual interface. BNAS is indeed a distinct unit [192.168.1.105].

    TTFN - JCMP.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!