RAM Question

Discussion in 'Mainboards / CPU / RAM' started by porky996t, March 14, 2013.

  1. porky996t
    • Premium Supporter

    porky996t MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Chartered Surveyor
    Location:
    Bolton, Lancashire, England
    Ratings:
    +82 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    I have upgraded the RAM in one of my Zotac ZBox ID41 clients from 1 x 2Gb to 1 x 4Gb. All fine and working great.



    I then decided to use the spare 2Gb stick and pair it up with the other 2Gb in the kitchen ZBox ID41 to give 2 x 2Gb. After installing it will not boot. It boots fine with both 2Gb sticks installed on their own as 1 x 2Gb, but not forming 4Gb, 2 x 2Gb, installed together.

    The RAM details are:-

    1. Crucial - 2Gb 204 pin DDR3 1333Mhz (8 x 256K chips)
    2. Kingston - 2Gb 204 pin DDR3 1333Mhz (16 x 128K chips)

    Anybody have any ideas?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    If your motherboard has 4 RAM slots then make sure the RAM is in the same channel

    eg.

    RAM | EMPTY | RAM | EMPTY

    or if the ram has different timings then run them in seperate channels

    eg.

    RAM | RAM | EMPTY | EMPTY

    [DOUBLEPOST=1363273103][/DOUBLEPOST]oh I just checked you only have 2 slots

    Try swapping the 2 sticks around. If that doesn't work you might have to manually enter the RAM timings/voltages in BIOS. You can write down the automatically detected timings for each single stick individually, then when you run both sticks at once manually set the timings to the stick that had the loosest timing.

    If that doesn't work then either 1. The mismatched RAM is incompatible with each other (This sometimes happens if you don't have a matched pair) or 2. the 2nd RAM slot on the motherboard is faulty.

    If you had 2x identical RAM sticks that you could try on the motherboard then this would eliminate the later.
     
    Last edited: March 14, 2013
  4. RonD
    • Team MediaPortal

    RonD Test Group

    Joined:
    December 20, 2011
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    119
    Occupation:
    semi-pro slacker
    Location:
    SillyValley CA
    Ratings:
    +275 / 0
    Home Country:
    United States of America United States of America
    and after a 2nd cup of coffee, this was not the question

    the zotacusa web page says the following for memory (on right side). not sure if this is your exact system.

    ZOTAC ZBOX ID41 PLUS [ZBOX-ID41-PLUS-U]
    Memory Size2GB Installed (Up to 4GB)
    Memory Slots2 x 204-pin SO-DIMM
    Memory TypeDDR3 800 SO-DIMM

    http://www.zotacusa.com/zbox-id41-plus.html

    looks like this board uses the Intel Atom D510/525 CPUs, Intel says both support
    Max Memory Size (dependent on memory type) 4 GB

    http://ark.intel.com/compare/49490,43098
     
    Last edited: March 14, 2013
  5. Owlsroost
    • Team MediaPortal

    Owlsroost Development Group

    Joined:
    October 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,503
    Likes Received:
    2,773
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +4,056 / 1
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    It might just be a limitation of the chipset or bios e.g. maybe 2 x single-sided modules are OK, but not 2 x double-sided (or 1 x single + 1 x double), or possibly it doesn't support mixed modules at all i.e. they have to be a matched pair.
     
  6. Paranoid Delusion
    • Team MediaPortal

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Mismatched ram will run slower anyway, so keep the one with the fastest timings ;)
     
  7. receiverbox

    receiverbox Portal Member

    Joined:
    March 17, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    3
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Regensburg
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Yes, Intel's Atom Platform is really limited in controlling and accessing to many memory chips. 16 chips in total on the memory bus could be the limit - need to check. If it has to many chips - it doesn't boot. (That is the default behaviour of Intels...)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. porky996t
    • Premium Supporter

    porky996t MP Donator

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,013
    Likes Received:
    75
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Chartered Surveyor
    Location:
    Bolton, Lancashire, England
    Ratings:
    +82 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Show System Specs
    Thanks receiverbox, good to know that there is a logical reason. It's not an issue really, as I'll just get a 4Gb strip instead
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!