Recommend HW/SW setup for small office (1 Viewer)

dennis9999

December 8, 2011
I'm a media server newbie. I'm considering MediaPortal. Would someone please let me know if what I want is doable, and recommend any components (HW, SW, Plugins, etc.):

Within a small office LAN, I would like to distribute multiple 'live' sources to multiple devices (tvs, pcs), each device selecting source (or in case of tv, a master pc indicating which source to send to tv):

inputs:
3 IP Cameras - ideally cat5 PoE
1 DVD Player (or can I just use the DVD player on the PC?)
1 Cable Box (recommend TV tuner card?)

outputs (players):
2 TVs with HDMI (and other input capability)
3 PCs

optionally, access cameras over internet.
Also, I don't yet have the HTPC for this, so if you could recommend a pre-built one with not just minimum, but actual real-world "recommended" CPU, Memory, etc. I'd really appreciate that too.

TIA

mm1352000

Retired Team Member
  • Premium Supporter
  • September 1, 2008
    Home Country
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hi and welcome dennis9999 :)

So the first thing I want to clarify is that MediaPortal is PC software, which is to say that you can't use MP to distribute anything to a TV unless you have a PC (with MP installed on it) connected to that TV.

Within a small office LAN, I would like to distribute multiple 'live' sources to multiple devices (tvs, pcs), each device selecting source (or in case of tv, a master pc indicating which source to send to tv)...
    That sounds generally doable.

3 IP Cameras - ideally cat5 PoE