Recommended CPU and memory for client/server box ?

Discussion in 'Mainboards / CPU / RAM' started by bob808, January 20, 2013.

  1. bob808
    • Premium Supporter

    bob808 MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 14, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    I am rebuilding my main backers TV server box that acts as a client for 1 room but also serves 3 other client machines. All screens are setup for 1080p playback on content and are setup on a gigabit network - one of the clients has 3d and uses content from the server box.

    Can anyone recommend the most suitable processor and memory config for this rebuild - I don't want to over do it or cut it short on juice.

    Thanks


    Bob


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    It would help to know what parts /machines you already have as you might be able to reuse some parts.

    The wiki page for htpc hardware video section is up to date
    http://wiki.team-mediaportal.com/4_HTPC/HTPC_Hardware/Video_Cards_(GPUs)

    Most of the other hardware wiki pages have a lot of older harder that is no longer relevant.

    I think your main server + client should run a ram drive, so I would put 12 or 16gb of cheap generic RAM in it. You definitely don't need to waste money on performance or fast RAM. With 12GB I'd run a 4 or 6GB Ram Drive for timeshifiting, with 16GB I'd run an 8GB Ram drive for timeshifting. eg. Kingston 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1333 CL9 (x2 of these)

    The clients only need 4GB of cheap generic DDR RAM eg. Kingston 4GB (1 x 4GB) DDR3-1333 CL9

    If you're going for integrated graphics the AMD Trinity Series seems the best value. You could put an AMD A4-5300 or A6-5400 in each of the clients. you'd have to check with someone that the integrated graphics in these CPUs can do 3d otherwise you might need to look at a discrete card for the 3d client.

    For the main PC + server you should get something a bit faster like an AMD A8-5600 or AMD A10-5?00 or Intel I3-2100 or i3-2120 something else.

    For motherboards just get something cheap with onboard audio/network/etc. from one of the main brands eg. ASUS/Gigabyte, it doesn't really matter, eg. Asus F1A55-M AMD A55 Socket FM1 mATX

    For the Cases/HDD/PSU/Remotes I assume you could reuse what you already have.
     
    Last edited: January 20, 2013
  4. bob808
    • Premium Supporter

    bob808 MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 14, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Today it's an early i7 with 24gb ram and an 8gb RAM disk and a radeon 7770

    The board and memory have died. I would reuse the case psu hard drives remote etc but simply need a new main board which brings a new processor and memory.

    I am happy with all my client machines it's just what to put in the server one
     
    Last edited: January 20, 2013
  5. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    Seems like a very high spec'd PC for just mediaportal + tvserver for 3 additional PCs. You probably don't need to get an i7 or even an i5, and i3 would probably be good enough.

    Is the RAM DDR2 or DDR3?

    Do the other 3 clients exist? is it the main PC that will be connected to the 3D TV?
     
  6. bob808
    • Premium Supporter

    bob808 MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 14, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Yes all clients in place already and no it's a client that displays in 3d when required
     
  7. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    So you don't need new client PCs you just need a new motherboard + cpu +/- RAM? for the server?

    Intel i3-2120 CPU
    Any cheap socket 1155 B75 chipset motherboard
    eg. GIGABYTE GA-B75M-D3H LGA 1155 Intel B75 USB 3.0 Micro ATX (6x SATA)
    1x4GB DDR3-1333 CL9 RAM (x3)

    or more expensive option

    Intel i3-2120 CPU
    Nicer socket 1155 Z77 chipset motherboard
    eg. ASUS P8Z77-M 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX
    2x4GB DDR3-1333 CL9 RAM (x2)

    or more expensive option

    Intel i5-3570k CPU
    Nicer socket 1155 Z77 chipset motherboard
    Z77 Motherboard eg. ASUS P8Z77-V LX INTEL Z77 DDR3 PCI-E3.0 LGA1155
    2x4GB DDR3-1600 CL9 RAM (x2)

    Main thing is to make sure they motherboard has enough slots of the correct type to fit all your tv cards / peripheral cards that are going into your server
     
    Last edited: January 20, 2013
  8. bob808
    • Premium Supporter

    bob808 MP Donator

    Joined:
    June 14, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +17 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Yep just checking what would be optimal for performance without overdoing it an using more power than needed.
     
  9. kiwijunglist
    • Team MediaPortal

    kiwijunglist Super Moderator

    Joined:
    June 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,741
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Occupation:
    Doctor
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ratings:
    +1,845 / 9
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Show System Specs
    ^ answer above[DOUBLEPOST=1358683954][/DOUBLEPOST]PS. If your old RAM is DDR3 then just reuse it and add an extra 4GB. If not sell it second hand as DDR2 is more valuable than DDR3 :D
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!