Recording did not wake up PC

Discussion in 'Newcomers Forum' started by redfoot0, September 20, 2015.

  1. redfoot0

    redfoot0 Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 14, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi,
    My scheduled recording did not wake up my PC. I got home near the end of the recording and found the PC sleeping. I woke it up and then the recording started with only a few minutes of the show remaining.
    Anyone have any idea what went wrong? Might be swearing but never had this problem with Windows Media Center.
    Thanks


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Hello

    Sorry you missed the recording.

    What have you done to configure the PC to ensure it wakes for recordings? (...because it won't "just work" - it has to be configured to work)
     
  4. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +963 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    You need to enable the "PowerScheduler" plugin, for both TV Server and the MP Client (so two things to setup). PowerScheduler is included in the standard distribution, but it is disabled by default.

    Note that PowerScheduler can wake your system only if you use sleep (power state "S3"), or hibernation (power state "S4"); PowerScheduler cannot wake your system from the off state (power state "S5").

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
  5. redfoot0

    redfoot0 Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 14, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Hi CyberSimian, thanks for your reply. I'm bemused as to why this isn't standard functionality, yet another thing to configure.
    Why would I not want my PC to wake up and record my shows?
    Anyway, rant over. I'm grateful I can ask the question here and someone like your good self helps me out :)
     
  6. CyberSimian
    • Team MediaPortal

    CyberSimian Test Group

    Joined:
    June 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    543
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +963 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Yes, I agree. (y)

    The very first release of MP that I installed to evaluate was (I think) MP 1.3 or 1.4, and that version of MP had the predecessor to "PowerScheduler++", and that was enabled by default. So unattended recordings with the HTPC sleeping or hibernating worked without further setup. :)

    When the improved "PowerScheduler++" replaced its predecessor, the decision was taken not to enable it by default. There may have been good reasons for this decision, but I don't know what they were, so I will have to leave it to others to explain the rationale. :confused:

    -- from CyberSimian in the UK
     
  7. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    It is a mistake to assume everybody has the same needs as you.
    If your TV Server sleeps to save power then of course you'd want it to wake for recordings.However, what about the people whose TV Servers do double duty as 24/7 file servers, media servers etc.?
    Both are common use cases. We can only have one default value. It is trivial to enable the PS plugin if you want it.

    With the greatest respect, I think you're mistaken. I've been using MP for years now (without PS), and to the best of my knowledge no TV Server plugin - including PS - has ever been enabled by default.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. redfoot0

    redfoot0 Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 14, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
     
  9. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    The point is: if you enable the PS plugin, it also automatically puts the PC to sleep when it is idle, which some people don't want.
     
  10. redfoot0

    redfoot0 Portal Member

    Joined:
    September 14, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ratings:
    +1 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Ah I get you now, thanks. The PC's own idle/sleep settings aren't enough to put it to sleep then? Would expect to only require wake up to record. The PC's own idle/sleep settings can send it to sleep if configured.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!