recordings section empty after every restart

Discussion in '1.2.x' started by kkendall, September 19, 2011.

  1. kkendall

    kkendall Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 24, 2007
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Marketing & Communication
    Location:
    Gouda
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: MP 1.2.0
    MediaPortal Skin: StreamedMP
    Windows Version: Windows 7
    CPU Type: Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 775 1333FSB 2.66Ghz 4MB
    HDD: Intel Postville SSD 80GB
    Memory: 2x Kingston DDR2 ValueRAM 1GB 667 CL5.0
    Motherboard: Asus P5K
    Video Card: NVIDIA 9600 (passive)
    Video Card Driver: latest
    Sound Card:
    Sound Card AC3: AC3 and DTS: S/PDIF
    Sound Card Driver: latest
    1. TV Card: FloppyDTV
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-C
    1. TV Card Driver: latest
    2. TV Card:
    2. TV Card Type:
    2. TV Card Driver:
    3. TV Card:
    3. TV Card Type:
    3. TV Card Driver:
    4. TV Card:
    4. TV Card Type:
    4. TV Card Driver:
    MPEG2 Video Codec: PowerDVD 10 (SAF 5.00)
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow (SAF 5.00)
    h.264 Video Codec: PowerDVD 10 (SAF 5.00)
    Satelite/CableTV Provider: CAIWAY
    HTPC Case: Silverstone LC17b
    Cooling: 1x 80 mm fan + 1 x cpu fan
    Power Supply: ANTEC
    Remote: Microsoft MCE 2005 remote
    TV: Panasonic TH-42PZ85
    TV - HTPC Connection: DVI-HDMI



    Since the installation of MP 1.2 final, the recording section is empty every time I start up MP after a restart of my pc...
    I can import all my recordings in the config again. But after every restart, they're gone again.
    Anyone got a solution?
    Logs attached
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. jameson_uk
    • Premium Supporter

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    could you just check your database
    Open up a command prompt (as admin if Vista / Win7)
    navigate to MySQL Bin folder (is C:\\Program Files\\MySQL\\MySQL Server 5.1\\bin for me) and enter
    Code (Text):
    1. mysqlcheck --user=root --pass=MediaPortal --auto-repair MPTVDB
    if that does not fix it there are lots of errors in your logs like
    Code (Text):
    1. 2011-09-19 22:10:16.283954 [scheduler thread(10)]: Exception   :System.UnauthorizedAccessException: Toegang tot het pad \\DISKSTATION\Recordings\Nederland 3 HD\Neonletters (AVRO) is geweigerd.
    This would suggest that MP is struggling to access this folder (recordings are being stored on your server rather than locally ?)
     
  4. kkendall

    kkendall Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 24, 2007
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Senior Marketing & Communication
    Location:
    Gouda
    Ratings:
    +16 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Thank's man, for your input!
    Your remark about the external disk made me remember that it could be the account that the service was running on...I checked the tv service under administrative tools - services and the update from 1.2rc to 1.2 final set the account back to 'local' instead of the account from my NAS!
    Editing it and setting this back to the correct account solved it.
    Is it an idea or an option for future releases to keep these account settings as they are set by the user, when updating? Is that possible?

    EDIT: Is it possible to give some error message of some kind when this happens? Now the recordings crash, start and stop, tvcards hang, recording section is emptied, etc....but no error message or warning.
     
  5. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,527
    Likes Received:
    4,738
    Ratings:
    +8,205 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    jameson_uk: I wonder could we do an automatic mysqlcheck and auto-repair on TV Server startup? This would slow down resume from sleep/hibernate a little, but it would allow us to avoid the steady trickle of issues we get with corrupted database tables. Of course this feels like patching symptoms - can we track the corruption back to its source? It always seems to be the program table. Maybe that is just because the program table is heavily used, but it could also be because the EPG grabber or a particular plugin causes trouble...

    mm
     
  6. arion_p
    • Premium Supporter

    arion_p Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,447
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +1,522 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    There is no way an application can cause table corruption in MySQL (or MSSQL). The only ways to get a table corrupt are:

    • power outage / hard reset
    • OS crash (BSOD)
    • MySQL service process crash
    • HDD bad sectors
    • other hardware or driver error (e.g. controller timeouts)
    I don't think it is wise to try to automatically repair the database without the user knowing. Repairing the database may end up with a database that is not corrupt but has missing data/tables/columns/indexes. That is why the suggested action is to first backup the raw database files, then try a repair, verify that everything is as it should and if there is something wrong restore from backup. In some cases repair is simply impossible and the only solution is a new database. Depending on the user's experience he may be able to extract whatever data is still accessible in the database (e.g. Channels, tuning details, schedules don't seem to be as easily affected as Programs) and import that into a new database.

    Perhaps a better solution would be to change MySQL to use InnoDB instead of ISAM. That way data is safe due to the transaction log (DBMS automatically repairs or rolls back). That is also one of the reasons why we have no such reports from users using MSSQL (it is always transactional)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. jameson_uk
    • Premium Supporter

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Perhaps we should just use Oracle ;)

    Anyway I think last time we discussed this there was a convincing argument against using InnoDB ?
     
  8. arion_p
    • Premium Supporter

    arion_p Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,447
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +1,522 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    I do not remember that discussion (maybe you could give me a hint/link). Anyway I presume the biggest drawback of InnoDB is speed. MySQL is so much faster than most other RDBMSs because it uses ISAM by default which is not transactional (and thus much lighter on disk access: no transaction log and no immediate flushing of disk buffers)
     
  9. jameson_uk
    • Premium Supporter

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    I wish I could... I remember having the discussion but can not find any reference to it (perhaps it was on IRC?)

    Is speed that much of an issue? it is probably very small in relation to the time taken in all the Object Relationship Mapping and looping code over the results once returned
     
  10. arion_p
    • Premium Supporter

    arion_p Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    February 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    1,447
    Occupation:
    Developer
    Location:
    Athens
    Ratings:
    +1,522 / 0
    Home Country:
    Greece Greece
    Show System Specs
    The difference in speed is when writing to DB, not reading/querying.
    I am not sure of the exact figure, I've read reports as low as 10% and as high as 50% :confused:
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!