Remapping MCE-button to start MP on Sceneo-remote?

Discussion in 'other Input / Output interfaces' started by Danneman101, December 17, 2008.

  1. Danneman101

    Danneman101 Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ive got a Sceneo-remote which is fully supported by MP and works wonderfully.
    http://data.centarea.biz/index_page/sceneo-mr2_index.jpg

    However, there is a MCE-button that opens the Windows Media Center, and I want it to open MP instad (ofcourse :) ).

    The problem is that this particular remote is mapped as a keyboard and has no ini-file or anything of that sort.
    So Im guessing the way would be to redirect the short-command for opening MC (as done by all keyboards) to MP instead?

    Any idea as to how to do this?



    Ive got Vista, btw.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
  4. Danneman101

    Danneman101 Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I did the regedit, and it did successfully disable Windows Media Center.

    After reboot, I extracted the files to my MP-folder and then doubleclicked the mptray_install.bat. It just flashed a black screen for a second.

    I rebooted the system, but now my MCE-button isnt opening anything.

    Actually, that button seems to have gone bananas, since it does something different each time I press it, like opening the Taskbar and StartMenu properties, for instance.

    Very strange. Do you know what is going on and how to fix it?
     
  5. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    In task manager you should see MPTray now running under the process tab.
     
  6. Danneman101

    Danneman101 Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Yep, its there in the process tab. Still, the MCE-button behaves funny and does not open MP... :/
     
  7. Paranoid Delusion
    • Premium Supporter

    Paranoid Delusion Moderation Manager

    Joined:
    June 13, 2005
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Electrical Engineer
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Ratings:
    +1,482 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Then I would say it's not a proper mce clone.

    Uninstall MPTray (just use the uninstall.bat, try irserversuite, this will allow you to map mediaportal.exe directly to that button using translator.
     
  8. Danneman101

    Danneman101 Portal Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Ok. On a regular keyboad, what kombination of keys opens the MCE?
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!