Remote not working after resume

Discussion in '1.2.x' started by doveman, January 23, 2012.

  1. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    MediaPortal Version: v1.2.2
    MediaPortal Skin: PureVisionHD Blue
    Windows Version: Win7 Ult 64
    CPU Type: Phenom II X4 955
    HDD: 2TB Samsung F4
    Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz
    Motherboard: MSI 990FXA-GD80
    Video Card: HD6950 2GB
    Video Card Driver: 12.1
    Sound Card: onboard Realtek AC97 (ALC892)
    Sound Card AC3: no AC3
    Sound Card Driver: 6.01.6482
    1. TV Card: Hauppauge Nova-T 500
    1. TV Card Type: DVB-T
    1. TV Card Driver: 4.3.27240
    MPEG2 Video Codec: Cyberlink PDVD11
    MPEG2 Audio Codec: ffdshow
    h.264 Video Codec: MS DTV-DVD
    Satelite/CableTV Provider:
    HTPC Case: Custom
    Cooling: TRUE Rev. c CPU / HSF Scythe 120mm fan
    Power Supply: Antec CP-850
    Remote: Nova-T 500
    TV: Sony XBR800 36"
    TV - HTPC Connection: DVI

    I have MP set to restart after resuming, which I observed it do, but my remote was not working properly. Some time later, I closed MP and restarted it manually (which is what it already did automatically after resuming) and the remote worked fine after that.


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. elliottmc
    • Premium Supporter

    elliottmc Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    August 7, 2005
    Messages:
    14,927
    Likes Received:
    4,011
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ratings:
    +5,503 / 13
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Try setting a startup delay. Perhaps the device drivers are not loaded before MP starts. If this is the case, this is an easy test and there would be nothing we can do about it.

    Mark
     
  4. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Thanks, that seems like it might do the trick. I'll go and try it.

    I didn't realise there was an additional delay that could be set for MP, as I've set the "Delay for TV card detection" to 30 seconds in TV Server config, and the remote is part of the TV card and it's seemed to have been OK with that set previously.
     
  5. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Setting the "Delay when restarting MP" to 10 seconds seemed to work, but today the remote wasn't working again. I opened MP config, which forces MP to close, and increased it to 20 seconds but after restarting MP the remote still wasn't working, which was weird as obviously quite a bit of time had elapsed since restarting by now.

    I normally close MP with ALT+F4, so it occurred to me that perhaps closing it with MP config somehow doesn't do something that ALT+F4 does, so I closed it with ALT+F4 and restarted it and the remote was working fine after that.

    So I wonder if the the "Restart MP after resume" option also results in something not being reset, and this is why the remote isn't working after resuming from standby and MP auto-restarting, but it is after closing MP with ALT+F4 and manually restarting?
     
  6. jameson_uk
    • Premium Supporter

    jameson_uk Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    January 27, 2005
    Messages:
    7,258
    Likes Received:
    2,228
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Data Warehousing Consultant
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +2,405 / 0
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Presumably the standard cursor type keys work in other applications? When the remote is not working on resume is it working in other apps?
     
  7. doveman

    doveman Portal Pro

    Joined:
    February 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,326
    Likes Received:
    166
    Ratings:
    +182 / 3
    Home Country:
    United Kingdom United Kingdom
    Show System Specs
    Hi

    I was just about to update this as I experienced the problem again this morning, despite the "delay after resume" being set to 20 seconds. I see from Mediaportal.bak that it does delay after resuming from 08:04:19 till 08:04:39.

    To answer your question, yes I noticed this morning that the cursor keys were making my browser window scroll up and down. When I closed MP, I got an error about HCWHelper having crashed and after restarting MP manually the remote was working OK again.
     
  8. eRJe
    • Premium Supporter

    eRJe MP Donator

    Joined:
    January 27, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    System Specialist
    Location:
    Den Helder
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    Netherlands Netherlands
    Show System Specs
    Hi,

    I have a similar problem with MP 1.2.3. I have Mediaportal startup automatically with Windows startup. Sometimes when I boot the computer, and Mediaportal started up, the remote won't work for Mediaportal. Although the IR monitor receives the IR commands from my remote. Closing down Mediaportal (via keyboard) and restarting it always solves the problem.

    I have tried setting a startup delay for Mediaportal. At first I thought this worked but like the OP the issue came back. Although, it is hard to say if it "came back" because the problem does not always occur after a reboot.

    Robbert
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!