SLOW 1.0 performance vs 1.0RC3 - What changed ? (1 Viewer)

steve walsh

Portal Member
November 5, 2008
Home Country
United Kingdom United Kingdom
Hello,
I'm new to MediaPortal - only really started on 1.0RC2 - and I'm hoping someone can help explain what my problem is...with MediaPortal - I've already had plenty of opinions on a personal level. thanks :)

After many years of planning, I finally got around to building my HTPC - making it as quiet as possible etc...
(smuggling a PC into the lounge without too much offence to the other half !)
This was around last August...
Anyhow, everything was going "ok" - performance was perfectly acceptable (given my single core processor and only 1 GB of memory at the time)
- SVN upgrades, next RC upgrade etc...

The odd problem solved via the forums - excellent support btw... :D

And before I had a chance to try RC4, the FINAL v1.0 was released at Xmas.
I upgraded (from 1.0RC3) and have been struggling with performance ever since.
EVERYTHING ran slower - but the "stuttering" on the live/recorded tv/videos became unacceptable after 2 months.
(I've been through the long "stuttering live tv" post, and have tried the RelaxTsReaderForBadReception.txt" file)
It was also impossible to change tv channels by "scrolling" through them - the channel names would take 10-30 seconds to appear... to get into "Recorded TV" from "live TV" could take 5 minutes. Everything was slow...
I doubled my system memory (1GB -> 2GB) with no improvement.
I tried ffdshow/Stand-Alone filters etc...
I'd tried different ATI drivers/Omega drivers...

I'd run out of ideas... (short of spending a lot of cash on newer hardware)
I even started messing with Linux and had some limited success with MythTv....

I thought I'd give Mediaportal another go, so I went back to RC3 and hey presto - everything works ok (as it did before v1.0).
No stuttering, channel changes are possible...

Any ideas what changed in the MediaPortal releases to have this effect ? :confused: