Slow startup for media portal 1.6

Discussion in 'General Support' started by CTHREEPO, February 28, 2014.

  1. CTHREEPO
    • Premium Supporter

    CTHREEPO MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Please can someone help.

    I have recently just built a new PC with a fresh copy of Win 7 64-Bit and installed MP 1.6. I have used MP for over 3 years and have noticed some irregularities with this version that I have installed - most noticably the time it takes for plugins to load and also the overall startup time it takes MP to load.

    Are there any common fixes for this problem that I can apply without having to uninstall and reinstall MP?

    Many thanks.

    Jim


     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. sunfire7

    sunfire7 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 24, 2011
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    24
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +46 / 0
    Home Country:
    Mexico Mexico
    Show System Specs
    Try disable plugins you not use, do you have an ssd?
     
  4. markrb

    markrb Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 22, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
  5. CTHREEPO
    • Premium Supporter

    CTHREEPO MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    Hi,
    Yes I am using an SSD - surely that would speed things up!?

    I have disabled all plugin that I do not use.

    Can you help further?

    Thanks[DOUBLEPOST=1393617218][/DOUBLEPOST]
    Win 7 64 bit.

    Same as you really, the previous version of MP I used was so much quicker at loading especially at the 'loading plugins' bit.

    I can't see how or why an SSD would cause any issues.
     
    Last edited: February 28, 2014
  6. markrb

    markrb Portal Pro

    Joined:
    April 22, 2006
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ratings:
    +2 / 0
    I think he was asking if you were using one, because they are faster. Not that it would slow you down.
     
  7. BassFan

    BassFan Guest

    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    what your mean with Slow Startup? more then 10 sec?
    i'm use MP 1.7 and after execute MP the GUI appears under 10 sec.

    Was ist schon zeit in dieser zeit
    What is time already in this time
    or do you mean it will take as long as until a new release has been released? ;)

    greets
     
    Last edited by a moderator: February 28, 2014
  8. CTHREEPO
    • Premium Supporter

    CTHREEPO MP Donator

    Joined:
    November 12, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    Home Country:
    England England
    40 seconds to load plugins + 10 more seconds to load Streamed MP fully.
     
  9. Lehmden
    • Premium Supporter

    Lehmden Retired Team Member

    Joined:
    December 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11,894
    Likes Received:
    2,151
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Lehmden
    Ratings:
    +3,626 / 28
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Absolutely normal. At least to me with every Build of MP1. This depends extremely on how much media you have in your plugins databases. My huge amount of Series, Movies, Pictures and Audio files leads to a start delay over one minute....
    One of the main reasons I don't use MP1 any longer... (MP2 needs less than 3 Seconds to start with the same amount of Media on the same machine)
     
  10. liteglow

    liteglow Portal Pro

    Joined:
    November 13, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ratings:
    +8 / 0
    Home Country:
    Norway Norway
    1.5 was better for me !
    tested both 1.6 and 1.7 with huge problems :(
    everything is broken now, does not matter what I do, I still have issues.

    I took a screenshot of what is wrong in GUI

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    and when I enter My Movies, it takes forever to load.
    And browsing movies also takes forever, when I click from the first movie to the 5th movie, the skin have not changed from movie #2 when I am at number 5 (if you did understand that)

    So it seems like my MP is dead now :(

    When I see movies now I have to use VLC in windows. ugh....
    :notworthy::notworthy:[DOUBLEPOST=1393787644][/DOUBLEPOST]I tried to do a CLEAN install now.
    It got worse, now there is NO menus at all, only wall paper !!!

    and I got this message when I exit MP:

     
    Last edited: March 2, 2014
  11. fabien44

    fabien44 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    March 12, 2006
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    33
    Ratings:
    +33 / 1
    Same issue. MP1.6 with only 2 active plugins.
    Win 8.1, core i5, 4Go RAM.
    No music or series database.
    It takes 40s to start up, very annoying.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!