Slow startup (splashscreen showing loading plugins)

Discussion in 'General Support' started by RicoHTPC, July 13, 2015.

  1. RicoHTPC
    • Super User

    RicoHTPC Super User

    Joined:
    February 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Cuxhaven
    Ratings:
    +178 / 6
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hey there



    After a long time of using mp without any problem I now encounter some sort of a hanging start.
    The problem showed up at my livingroom client with mp 1.11 and is still there with 1.12.
    What's the problem? Mp hangs for maybe 30 secs. within the startup procedere while "starting plugins"
    is being shown on the splashscreen. My first thought was a corrupt db so I went back to an earlier
    backup of my system but that didn't help. Then I updated all my systems to mp 1.12 but that didn't help either.
    What I read in the loggs looked like something with the PS plugin but I'm not sure (and no pro).
    I attached two loggs. One normal (18:58) and one with debug mode enbabled (19:00). Both took the same time to start.

    Grateful for every bit of help.

    Rico
     
    Last edited: July 13, 2015
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide all adverts.
  3. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11,176
    Likes Received:
    1,145
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,458 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hi Rico,

    It seems to have to do with the TV Server. The client is probably waking it up and then has to wait until TV groups and channels have been successfully loaded. Client logs going idle at 18:59:13 and then continues 40sec later when TV information has been gathered.

    Please post the respective TVServer log in order to see what is happening.
     
  4. RicoHTPC
    • Super User

    RicoHTPC Super User

    Joined:
    February 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Cuxhaven
    Ratings:
    +178 / 6
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I can see the respective time but I don't see the reason for the delay.
     
  5. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11,176
    Likes Received:
    1,145
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,458 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Me neither.

    The second MP log (19:00) does not look like it was taken in debug mode. Can you verify, and possibly rerun?
     
  6. RicoHTPC
    • Super User

    RicoHTPC Super User

    Joined:
    February 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Cuxhaven
    Ratings:
    +178 / 6
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    I did not rerun but restored my server to 1.11 and updated new because I figured out that my other client has the same problem.
    So it must be server related. Unfortunately the restore and update didn't change anything...
    I attached the logs from the server.
     
  7. HTPCSourcer
    • Team MediaPortal
    • Administrator

    HTPCSourcer MP2 Product Manager

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11,176
    Likes Received:
    1,145
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +2,458 / 22
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Show System Specs
    Hello,

    The server log is for a MP 1.12 installation. There are just 8 sec elapsing between server launch and it being ready, which looks OK for me. If all clients have a 40 sec lag, something else must be happening.
     
  8. charliekay74

    charliekay74 Portal Pro

    Joined:
    June 6, 2015
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +9 / 2
    Home Country:
    Germany Germany
    Ive also an endless slow start of mediaportal...2-3 Minutes....so that i decided to use it only as tv server and use now kodi for client
     
    Last edited: July 15, 2015
  9. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,541
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Ratings:
    +8,220 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    Check DNS resolve time, and ensure IPv6 is disabled.
     
  10. mrkaras

    mrkaras Portal Pro

    Joined:
    December 9, 2006
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ratings:
    +7 / 3
    Home Country:
    Show System Specs
    sitting on starting plugins for over 30 seconds a lot of the time is normal for MP isn't it?
     
  11. mm1352000
    • Team MediaPortal

    mm1352000 Development Group

    Joined:
    September 1, 2008
    Messages:
    21,541
    Likes Received:
    4,752
    Ratings:
    +8,220 / 17
    Home Country:
    New Zealand New Zealand
    No, not necessarily. Some plugins are slow to load, and yes loading will take awhile if you have a lot of plugins and/or a slow system... but loading shouldn't be slow for no reason.
     
Loading...

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
  • About The Project

    The vision of the MediaPortal project is to create a free open source media centre application, which supports all advanced media centre functions, and is accessible to all Windows users.

    In reaching this goal we are working every day to make sure our software is one of the best.

             

  • Support MediaPortal!

    The team works very hard to make sure the community is running the best HTPC-software. We give away MediaPortal for free but hosting and software is not for us.

    Care to support our work with a few bucks? We'd really appreciate it!